What Would Mary Berry Do?
63%
off

What Would Mary Berry Do?

3.87 (760 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Marie Dunwoody doesn't want for much in life. She has a lovely husband, three wonderful children, and a business of her own. But her cupcakes are crap. Her meringues are runny and her biscuits rock-hard. She cannot bake for toffee. Or, for that matter, make toffee. Marie can't ignore the disappointed looks any more, or continue to be shamed by neighbour and nemesis, Lucy Gray. Lucy whips up perfect profiteroles with one hand, while ironing her bed sheets with the other. Marie's had enough: this is the year it all changes. She vows to follow - to the letter - recipes from the Queen of Baking, and at all times ask, 'What would Mary Berry do?' Husband Robert has noticed that his boss takes crumb structure as seriously as budget cuts and with redundancies on the horizon, he too puts on a pinny. Twins Rose and Iris are happy to eat all the half-baked mistakes that come their way, but big brother Angus is more distant than usual, as if something is troubling him. And there is no one as nosey as a matching pair of nine-year-old girls ...Marie starts to realise that the wise words of Mary Berry can help her with more than just a Victoria Sponge.But can Robert save the wobbling souffle that is his career? And is Lucy's sweet demeanour hiding something secretly sour? This is a delicious feast of a funny novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Allison Pearson. **This is a work of fiction, in no way endorsed by Mary Berry, and where neither Mary Berry herself nor her recipes feature.**show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 350 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 28mm | 300g
  • Pan MacMillan
  • Pan Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed.
  • 1447253493
  • 9781447253495
  • 13,188

About Claire Sandy

Claire Sandy lives in Surrey with a husband and a daughter and loves lots of things, such as baking, reading, writing, eating, chatting about matters of global importance with her nine year old, dressing up her dog and inventing new things to do with gin. She's worked at many things - advertising, radio jingles, a wool shop - and thanks her lucky stars that writing What Would Mary Berry Do? involved every single item on her list of loved things.show more

Review quote

A laugh on every page Lucy Diamond, bestselling author of The Beach Cafe This book is a sheer delight. Funny, warm and a real page turner Katie Fforde, bestselling author of The Perfect Match Wonderfully warm ... a delicious treat Vanessa Greene, bestselling author of The Vintage Tea Cup Club I recommend you devour it immediately Kirsty Greenwood, bestselling author of Yours Truly A serious chocolate cake of a book: classic, delicious, dangerously moreish, and made with heaps of love. Fantastic. Victoria Fox, bestselling author of Power Games A laugh-out-loud story Prima Baby and Pregnancyshow more

Review Text

A laugh on every page Lucy Diamond, bestselling author of The Beach Cafeshow more

Rating details

760 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 29% (217)
4 39% (297)
3 26% (196)
2 5% (36)
1 2% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X