What I Carry
14%
off

What I Carry

4.65 (26 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For readers of Robin Benway's Far from the Tree, a powerful and heartwarming look at a teen girl about to age out of the foster care system. Growing up in foster care, Muir has lived in many houses. And if she's learned one thing, it is to Pack. Light. Carry only what fits in a suitcase.
Toothbrush? Yes.
Socks? Yes.
Emotional attachment to friends? foster families? a boyfriend? Nope!
There's no room for any additional baggage.
Muir has just one year left before she ages out of the system. One year before she's free. One year to avoid anything--or anyone--that could get in her way. Then she meets Francine. And Kira. And Sean.
And everything changes.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 139 x 210 x 28.7mm | 436.36g
  • Random House USA Children's Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0553537717
  • 9780553537710
  • 85,619

Review quote

"The power of relationship--both those experienced and those denied--is expertly explored throughout this novel with nuance and humanity... An exceptional addition to the coming-of-age canon." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Longo (Up to this Pointe), a foster and adoptive parent, wrote the book for her adopted daughter, who wanted a "hopeful, happy" tale; she provides it--and the book, well-written and heartfelt, is a pleasure." --Publisher's Weekly, starred review "A deeply touching story about survival, hope, and love and an important addition to the literature of foster care. Muiriel's journey will transfix readers from the first to the last page."-- Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces "What I Carry is not only a necessary book --it's a charming, honest, and hopeful one. This is a story you'll fall for." --Deb Caletti, National Book Award Finalist, and author of the Michael L. Printz Honor Book, A Heart in a Body in the World "You will carry this book in your heart for a long, long time."--Jeff Zentner, William C. Morris Award winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

"Funny, painful, fresh, and real, Jennifer Longo's What I Carry will break your heart and put it back together again." -- Martha Brokenbrough, author of Kirkus Prize Finalist The Game of Love and Death "A knock-down hope-filled story to fall in love with...Read this book. Then pass it on." --Holly Cupala, author of Don't Breathe a Word "This smart, funny, beautiful book is sure to mend hearts as well as open minds." --Jo Knowles, author of Where the Heart Is
show more

About Jennifer Longo

JENNIFER LONGO is the author of Six Feet Over It and Up to This Pointe. She holds an MFA in Writing for Theater from Humboldt State University. Jennifer lives in Seattle with her husband and daughter and writes about writing at jenlongo.com. You can also find her on Twitter @JenLiaLongo.
show more

Rating details

26 ratings
4.65 out of 5 stars
5 73% (19)
4 19% (5)
3 8% (2)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X