What Big Teeth

What Big Teeth

3.48 (3,471 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

What you see isn't always what you get.

Eleanor Zarrin has been distanced from her family for years. When she returns home after a violent incident at boarding school, trying to fit back into the space she left becomes even more difficult when their headstrong matriarch unexpectedly dies. Eleanor's bloodthirsty family is left unchecked for the first time in decades, and when her Grandmere arrives to help the family adjust, it's clear that something dark is lurking beneath her genteel exterior.

Eleanor learns that she has inherited her Grandmere's terrifying gift, which allows her to control people by devouring them whole. Now she must make a choice between following in her Grandmere's footsteps, or taking a stand, and saving her family from the monster she invited into their home.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 135 x 208 x 30.48mm | 300g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0374314306
  • 9780374314309
  • 149,372

Review quote

*A Strand February YA Book of the Month

With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading. -- Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Deliciously gothic and wonderfully creepy. -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW

... one part haunting mystery, one part dark fantasy ... This darkly thrilling gothic fantasy will appeal to fans of Karen McManus and Maggie Stiefvater alike. -- School Library Journal

A tale so gorgeously twisty, it'll turn you inside out. -- Tor.com

Gazes into [the] darkness to face the monster that dwells within. -- NPR Books

A complete ghostly chill that deserves ten stars. -- The Nerd Daily

Has bite--and will leave you feeling dazed. -- Forever YA

A hauntingly thrilling read. -- The Lineup

A fascinating debut. -- PopSugar

[An] inventive concept -- Den of Geek

Not your typical YA fantasy. -- Culturess
show more

About Rose Szabo

Rose Szabo is a nonbinary writer from Richmond, Virginia, where they live with an assortment of people and animals and teach writing at VCU. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU. Their work has been published in See the Elephant and Quaint magazines. What Big Teeth is their first novel. roseszabo.com
show more

Rating details

3,471 ratings
3.48 out of 5 stars
5 19% (653)
4 33% (1,138)
3 31% (1,060)
2 13% (468)
1 4% (152)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X