We Shall Inherit the Wind

We Shall Inherit the Wind

3.59 (499 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

1998. Varg Veum sits by the hospital bedside of his long-term girlfriend Karin, whose life-threatening injuries provide a deeply painful reminder of the mistakes he's made. Investigating the seemingly innocent disappearance of a wind-farm inspector, Varg Veum is thrust into one of the most challenging cases of his career, riddled with conflicts, environmental terrorism, religious fanaticism, unsolved mysteries and dubious business ethics. Then, in one of the most heart-stopping scenes in crime fiction, the first body appears...

A chilling, timeless story of love, revenge and desire, We Shall Inherit the Wind deftly weaves contemporary issues with a stunning plot that will leave you gripped to the final page. This is Staalesen at his most thrilling, thought-provoking best.

'The Varg Veum series is more concerned with character and motivation than spectacle, and it's in the quieter scenes that the real drama lies.' Herald Scotland

'Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin

`A Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo

`Gunnar Staalesen was writing suspenseful and socially conscious Nordic Noir long before any of today's Swedish crime writers had managed to put together a single book page ... one of Norway's most skillful storytellers' Johan Theorin

`Razor-edged Scandinavian crime fiction at its finest' Quentin Bates

`Not many books hook you in the first chapter - this one did, and never let go!' Mari Hannah
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 271 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 22.86mm | 204.12g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1910633070
  • 9781910633076
  • 184,334

Review quote

'The characters in the book are drawn with more nuances and more psychological insight than in most crime novels - there is generally something Ibsenian about this detective novel in which past sins play such an important part in the present' Bergens Tidende 'The Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo 'One of the finest Nordic novelists in the tradition of Henning Mankell' Barry Forshaw, Independent 'Staalesen's mastery of pacing enables him to develop his characters in a leisurely way without sacrificing tension and suspense' Publishers Weekly
show more

About Gunnar Staalesen

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway, in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty titles, which have been published in twenty-four countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour) and Where Roses Never Die won the 2017 Petrona Award for crime fiction. He lives with his wife in Bergen. Don Bartlett completed an MA in Literary Translation at the University of East Anglia in 2000 and has since worked with a wide variety of Danish and Norwegian authors, including Jo Nesbo and Gunnar Staalesen's Varg Veum series: We Shall Inherit the Wind, Wolves in the Dark and the Petrona award-winning Where Roses Never Die. He also translated Faithless, the previous book in Kjell Ola Dahl's Oslo Detective series for Orenda Books. He lives with his family in a village in Norfolk
show more

Rating details

499 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 16% (81)
4 41% (203)
3 32% (161)
2 8% (42)
1 2% (12)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X