We Set the Dark on Fire
10%
off

We Set the Dark on Fire

4.06 (100 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

38 days to go
Pre-order Add to wishlist

Description

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Cordova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio-and a chance at a forbidden love?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 31mm | 646g
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062691317
  • 9780062691316
  • 557,435

Review quote

"With its achingly slow-burn romance and incisive examination of power structures, this is a masterfully constructed novel, made all the more impressive as it's a debut." -- ALA Booklist (starred review) "A richly constructed world full of fantasy and diversity, with a mystery that will keep them guessing until the very end." -- School Library Journal (starred review) "This fierce, feminist novel throws memorable characters into a provocative set of circumstances, and the constant twists will leave readers yearning for the conclusion." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Tehlor Kay Mejia has fashioned a gripping tale of romance and rebellion. Dani captivated me and held my heart in a vice grip all the way to this book's stunning conclusion." -- Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night "We Set the Dark on Fire simmers with political revolution and forbidden love between two powerful young women-I couldn't put it down." -- Audrey Coulthurst, author of Of Fire and Stars "A vivid tale of political intrigue, power, and resistance that will thrill the hearts of readers." -- New York Times bestselling author Traci Chee
show more

About Tehlor Kay Mejia

Tehlor Kay Mejia is an author and Oregon native in love with the alpine meadows and evergreen forests of her home state, where she lives with her daughter. We Set the Dark on Fire is her first novel. You can follow her on Twitter @tehlorkay.
show more

Rating details

100 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 40% (40)
4 38% (38)
3 14% (14)
2 4% (4)
1 4% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X