We Ride the Storm

We Ride the Storm : The Reborn Empire, Book One

3.91 (1,341 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'Highly recommended' John Gwynne

'Madson is an exciting new author in fantasy' Mark Lawrence

'A complex tale of war, politics and lust for power' Guardian

AS AN EMPIRE DIES, THREE WARRIORS WILL RISE. THEY MUST RIDE THE STORM OR DROWN IN ITS BLOOD.

The kingdom of Kisia is divided, held together only by the will of the god-emperor. When an act of betrayal shatters an alliance with the neighbouring land of Chiltae, all that has been won comes crashing down.

Now, as the fires of war spread, a warrior, an assassin and a princess must chase their ambitions, no matter the cost.

War built the Kisian Empire. And now war will tear it down.

'A visceral, intriguing, intense and emotionally charged ride'
Grimdark Magazine

'Breathtakingly triumphant . . . it has become one of my favourite books of all time'
Novel Notions

'Buckle your seatbelts and prepare for a hell of a ride' Fantasy Book Critic

'Complex and immersive . . . doesn't let go until the final electrifying pages' Fantasy Book Review

Books by Devin Madson

The Reborn Empire
We Ride the Storm
We Lie with Death (coming Jan '21)

The Vengeance Trilogy
The Blood of Whisperers
The Gods of Vice
The Grave at Storm's End
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 512 pages
  • 124 x 196 x 36mm | 340g
  • ORBIT
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356514080
  • 9780356514086
  • 63,030

Review Text

With prose that rises above most novels, Devin Madson paints evocative scenes to build an engaging story. Highly entertaining, We Ride the Storm is certainly worth your attention and Madson is an exciting new author in fantasy
show more

Review quote

Madson has crafted a complex and immersive story that catapults the reader through a gripping series of adventures and doesn't let go until the final electrifying pages -- FANTASY BOOK REVIEW I loved this book . . . It is-hands down-one of the best self-published books I've ever read -- FANTASY INN A visceral, intriguing, intense and emotionally charged ride. I cannot wait to see where the next book takes us and eagerly await its arrival. I'd strongly recommend this bloody and bold tale to fans of Mark Lawrence [and] George R. R. Martin -- GRIMDARK MAGAZINE Breathtakingly triumphant . . . it has become one of my favourite books of all time . . . a gripping, evocative hurricane of emotions that constantly took my breath away -- NOVEL NOTIONS I loved this book so much it's almost ridiculous . . . We Ride the Storm is dark fantasy done right. There's a lot going on and it never stops. It's also beautiful and deep, with characters that jump off the page. This book really surprised me. I expected to like it. I didn't expect to love it -- BOOKWORM BLUES Buckle your seatbelts and prepare for a hell of a ride -- FANTASY BOOK CRITIC I loved this book! A lot -- BOOKNEST Intricate, compelling and vividly imagined, this is the first in a new series that I am hugely excited about. Visceral battles, complex politics and fascinating worldbuilding bring Devin's words to life -- Anna Stephens, author of GODBLIND Set in an Asian-inspired world with echoes of ancient China and the Mongol Empire this is a tale that hits all the right spots. Imaginative world building, a pace that builds perfectly to a heart-pounding finale and captivating, believable characters. There's a lot to love here. Highly recommended -- John Gwynne, author of MALICE A complex tale of war, politics and lust for power -- GUARDIAN We Ride the Storm is a whirlwind of a book, action-packed, bloody, brutal, emotional, fast-paced, frenetic and gripping -- THE TATTOOED BOOK GEEK With prose that rises above most novels, Devin Madson paints evocative scenes to build an engaging story. Highly entertaining, We Ride the Storm is certainly worth your attention and Madson is an exciting new author in fantasy -- Mark Lawrence Fans of George R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series will appreciate the feudal political manoeuvring, shifting alliances, and visceral descriptions of combat and its aftermath in this series -- BOOKLIST Madson has built a living, breathing world of Empire and fury. We Ride the Storm grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go -- Peter McLean, author of PRIEST OF BONES
show more

About Devin Madson

Devin Madson is an Aurealis Award-winning fantasy author from Australia. Anything but zen, Devin subsists on tea and chocolate and so much fried zucchini she ought to have turned into one by now. Follow her on Twitter at @DevinMadson.
show more

Rating details

1,341 ratings
3.91 out of 5 stars
5 30% (396)
4 42% (564)
3 21% (276)
2 6% (78)
1 2% (27)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X