We Come Apart
20%
off

We Come Apart

3.85 (377 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

YA rising stars Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan join forces to break readers' hearts in this contemporary story of star-cross'd lovers. Jess would never have looked twice at Nicu if her friends hadn't left her in the lurch. Nicu is all big eyes and ill-fitting clothes, eager as a puppy, even when they're picking up litter in the park for community service. He's so not her type. Appearances matter to Jess. She's got a lot to hide. Nicu thinks Jess is beautiful. His dad brought Nicu and his mum here for a better life, but now all they talk about is going back home to find Nicu a wife. The last thing Nicu wants is to get married. He wants to get educated, do better, stay here in England. But his dad's fists are the most powerful force in Nicu's life, and in the end, he'll have to do what his dad wants. As Nicu and Jess get closer, their secrets come to the surface like bruises. The only safe place they have is with each other. But they can't be together, forever, and stay safe - can they? An extraordinary, high-impact, high-emotion collaboration between two Carnegie honoured rising stars of YA. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Rainbow Rowell and John Green.Sarah Crossan received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Brian Conaghan's powerful debut, When Mr Dog Bites, was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, Peters Book of the Year and CBI Book of the Year Award.show more

Product details

  • 12+
  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 25mm | 313g
  • Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Export/Airside ed
  • 1408878860
  • 9781408878866
  • 72,500

Review quote

This is a strikingly brave, sensitive and unusual book that pack such a powerful emotional punch, I defy anyone not to weep at the end Praise for ONE: Daily Mail Beautifully observed and hilariously uncomfortable Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Guardian One of the most powerful as well as the most unusual novels of the year Praise for ONE: Independent on Sunday Read, think, enjoy and weep, because the novel is quite simply an achingly sad and beautiful story about what makes any of us human Praise for ONE: Telegraph This is a portrayal of young male bonding, complete with all the lively banter of true camaraderies, at its most tender and affectionate Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Irish Times An outstanding debut, packed with energy and a brilliant distinctive voice Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Bookseller Surprising and charming Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Observershow more

About Sarah Crossan

Sarah Crossan has lived in Dublin, London and New York, and now lives in Hertfordshire. She graduated with a degree in philosophy and literature before training as an English and drama teacher at Cambridge University. She received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Since completing a masters in creative writing, she has been working to promote creative writing in schools. http://www.sarahcrossan.com/ @SarahCrossan Brian Conaghan was born and raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge but now lives in Dublin. He has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow. For many years Brian worked as a teacher and taught in Scotland, Italy and Ireland. His novels include The Boy Who Made it Rain, published in 2011, When Mr Dog Bites which was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal in 2015, attracted both praise and controversy for its honest, moving and humorous depiction of a teenage boy with Tourette's syndrome and The Bombs That Brought Us Together, published in 2016 to critical acclaim.show more

Review Text

This is a strikingly brave, sensitive and unusual book that pack such a powerful emotional punch, I defy anyone not to weep at the end Praise for ONE: Daily Mailshow more

Rating details

377 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 31% (116)
4 35% (133)
3 25% (94)
2 6% (24)
1 3% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X