We Are The Dead

We Are The Dead : Book One

4.11 (546 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 

List price: US$28.10

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The war is over. The enemy's won. Now it's time to fight back.
For generations, the people of Jia - a land where magic has long since faded from the world, clinging on in only a few rare individuals - have been protected from the northern Egril hordes by their warrior caste, but their enemy has not been idle. They have rediscovered magic and use it to launch an overwhelming surprise attack. An invasion has begun.

And in moments, the war is over. Resistance is quashed. Kings and city leaders are barricaded in their homes awaiting banishment and execution, the warriors are massacred, and a helpless people submit to the brutality of Egril rule.

Jia's heroes have failed it. They are all gone. And yet... there is still hope. Soon the fate of the kingdom will fall into the hands of a schoolboy terrorist, a crippled Shulka warrior and his wheelchair bound son, a single mother desperate enough to do anything she can to protect her baby... and Tinnstra, disgraced daughter of the Shulka's greatest leader, who now lies dead by Egril hands.

A brand new epic fantasy: gritty and modern featuring a unique ensemble of characters who will lead a revolution against their overlords.

PERFECT FOR readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, and Peter V. Brett
show more

Product details

  • Gollancz
  • London, United Kingdom
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged edition
  • 147322831X
  • 9781473228313

Review quote

Like Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell . . . Absolutely splendid. Shackle has come up with something really special here * Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones * You can't write a debut novel much better than this * Under the Radar SFF Books * A fantastic, enthralling debut. Imagine if Akira Kuworasawa and Joe Abercrombie wrote a fantasy thriller with a pace that moves at the speed of light * Jeremy Szal, author of Stormblood * A fantastic story with unique characters that draw you in and don't let you go * Justin Call, author of Master of Sorrows * An adventure that's rich in darkness and bloodshed. * SFX MAGAZINE * Gripping, grim and glorious * Mark Stay, author of The End of Magic * An easy 5 stars from me . . . The tension ratchets up nicely as the best laid plans fall apart and people struggle to survive. The world building and characters fit together flawlessly * Cameron Johnston, author of The Traitor God * An utter masterpiece * Where There's Ink There's Paper * From start to finish this will keep you on the edge of your seat. This is an outstanding debut, you don't want to miss it. * Starlit Book * A superb opening novel to The Last War series that takes you on a break-neck speed ride of plot twists, bloody battles and pain * Jack's Bedtime Reading * Hooked from page one, We Are the Dead rattles along with the pace of a runaway bullet train. Original, engaging, flawed but very-human characters draw us into a world rent by war, a world of brutal occupation, tarnished honour and devastating magics. This is a powerful debut and Shackle is an author to watch * Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion * We Are the Dead is a fantasy novel that is able to blend the modern trends of dark fantasy with the magical styles of the past * SF Book * A brutal showstopper of a novel * Always Trust in Books * We Are the Dead is a staggering, marvellous and gripping fantasy debut * Grimdark Magazine * A masterpiece of a story about hope, resistance and fellowship * The Book Bag * Likely the next Game of Thrones, and the best book I've read in several years. Erikson, Martin and Rothfuss are going to have to shove over and make room at the bar . . . I can't think how to tone down my enthusiasm * Glen Cook, author of The Black Company * One of the best fantasy debuts in years * Civilian Reader * We Are the Dead is awesome. Memorable characters. One of the most sadistic villains I've ever encountered. Tightly woven action scenes that feel like something you'd see in a Micheal Mann film. I was gripped and loving it the entire time * Brian Naslund, author of Blood of an Exile * Fans of Joe Abercrombie and R.F. Kuang are sure to find something to love here * Fantasy Hive * A barnstorming book of ordinary people dealing with extraordinary circumstances - great fun and very entertaining * Tom Lloyd, author of Stranger of Tempest * This is a good fun resistance story, featuring thoroughly horrible, and believable, occupiers * Morning Star *
show more

About Mike Shackle

Originally from London, Mike Shackle has called Hong Kong, Singapore, Beijing, New York and Dubai his home over the years before settling down with his family in Vancouver. In that time, he's sold washing machines, cooked for royalty, designed a few logos, and made a lot of ads. Ideally, he's happiest day dreaming over a cup of tea.
show more

Rating details

546 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 40% (219)
4 38% (210)
3 15% (83)
2 5% (26)
1 1% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X