We Are The Dead

We Are The Dead : Book One

4.11 (581 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

The first book in The Last War series: a debut epic fantasy full of crunching revolutionary action, twisted magic, and hard choices in dark times.

The war is over. The enemy won.

Jia's people learned the hard way that there are no second chances. The Egril, their ancient enemy, struck with magic so devastating that Jia's armies were wiped out. Now terror reigns in the streets, and friend turns on friend just to live another day.

Somehow Tinnstra - a deserter, a failure, nothing but a coward - survived. She wants no more than to hide from the chaos.

But dragged into a desperate plot to retake Jia, surrounded by people willing to do anything to win the fight, this time Tinnstra will need to do more than hide.

If Jia is to get a second chance after all, this time she will need to be a hero.

With all the grit of Joe Abercrombie, Mark Lawrence and Ed McDonald, this is fantasy with the sharpest of edges.

* * * * * * * * * *

'The next Game of Thrones' Glen Cook, author of The Black Company

'Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell' Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones

'A powerful debut' Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 496 pages
  • 130 x 196 x 42mm | 360g
  • Gollancz
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473225221
  • 9781473225220
  • 218,929

Review quote

Likely the next Game of Thrones, and the best book I've read in several years. Erikson, Martin and Rothfuss are going to have to shove over and make room at the bar . . . I can't think how to tone down my enthusiasm * Glen Cook, author of The Black Company * Like Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell . . . Absolutely splendid. Shackle has come up with something really special here * Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones * Hooked from page one, We Are the Dead rattles along with the pace of a runaway bullet train. Original, engaging, flawed but very-human characters draw us into a world rent by war, a world of brutal occupation, tarnished honour and devastating magics. This is a powerful debut and Shackle is an author to watch * Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion * A masterpiece of a story about hope, resistance and fellowship * The Book Bag * An adventure that's rich in darkness and bloodshed. * SFX MAGAZINE * Fans of Joe Abercrombie and R.F. Kuang are sure to find something to love here * Fantasy Hive * We Are the Dead is a staggering, marvellous and gripping fantasy debut * Grimdark Magazine * A barnstorming book of ordinary people dealing with extraordinary circumstances - great fun and very entertaining * Tom Lloyd, author of Stranger of Tempest * Gripping, grim and glorious * Mark Stay, author of The End of Magic * An utter masterpiece * Where There's Ink There's Paper * We Are the Dead is a fantasy novel that is able to blend the modern trends of dark fantasy with the magical styles of the past * SF Book * A brutal showstopper of a novel * Always Trust in Books * This is a good fun resistance story, featuring thoroughly horrible, and believable, occupiers * Morning Star * A barnstorming book of ordinary people dealing with extraordinary circumstances - great fun and very entertaining * Tom Lloyd, author of Stranger of Tempest * One of the best fantasy debuts in years * Civilian Reader * We Are the Dead is awesome. Memorable characters. One of the most sadistic villains I've ever encountered. Tightly woven action scenes that feel like something you'd see in a Micheal Mann film. I was gripped and loving it the entire time * Brian Naslund, author of Blood of an Exile * An easy 5 stars from me . . . The tension ratchets up nicely as the best laid plans fall apart and people struggle to survive. The world building and characters fit together flawlessly * Cameron Johnston, author of The Traitor God * You can't write a debut novel much better than this * Under the Radar SFF Books * From start to finish this will keep you on the edge of your seat. This is an outstanding debut, you don't want to miss it. * Starlit Book * A fantastic, enthralling debut. Imagine if Akira Kuworasawa and Joe Abercrombie wrote a fantasy thriller with a pace that moves at the speed of light * Jeremy Szal, author of Stormblood * A fantastic story with unique characters that draw you in and don't let you go * Justin Call, author of Master of Sorrows * A superb opening novel to The Last War series that takes you on a break-neck speed ride of plot twists, bloody battles and pain * Jack's Bedtime Reading *
show more

About Mike Shackle

Originally from London, Mike Shackle has called Hong Kong, Singapore, Beijing, New York and Dubai his home over the years before settling down with his family in Vancouver. In that time, he's sold washing machines, cooked for royalty, designed a few logos, and made a lot of ads. Ideally, he's happiest day dreaming over a cup of tea.
show more

Rating details

581 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 40% (230)
4 39% (229)
3 15% (87)
2 5% (27)
1 1% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X