The Way, My Way

The Way, My Way

4.29 (404 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 11 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 16-19 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

"I'd never done anything crazy like this before - a pilgrimage walk. I was not a hiker, and I wasn't a Catholic. In fact, I wasn't even sure I was a Christian. On the last government census when I had to state my religion, I'd said I was a Buddhist, mainly because they've had such a hard time in Tibet and I felt they needed my statistical support. I was also not an adventure traveller. For me, adventure travel was flying coach. All this backpacking and wearing of heavy boots and flying off to France to walk ancient pilgrimage routes was a new experience, and not one that made me feel entirely comfortable." And so Bill Bennett, an Australian based film director, set off on an 800 kilometre walk across Spain to Santiago de Compostela, not sure why he was doing it, and not feeling entirely comfortable. His discomfort increased markedly a few days later when his knee gave out - so the rest of the walk was a "pain management pilgrimage." But he kept his sense of humour, and his memoir is at times hilarious but also deeply moving, and insightful. In the vein of Bill Bryson and Eric Newby, The Way, My Way takes you on a unique spiritual journey, and gives you a hearty laugh along the way.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 300 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 17mm | 381g
  • English
  • 1493670115
  • 9781493670116
  • 59,730

About Bill Bennett

Bill Bennett is an Australian based film director. He lives in Mudgee, in Central New South Wales, with his wife Jennifer. The Way, My Way is his first book.
show more

Rating details

404 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 52% (210)
4 31% (124)
3 12% (50)
2 4% (17)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X