The Watermelon Seed
28%
off

The Watermelon Seed

4.02 (2,655 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 40 pages
  • 205.74 x 256.54 x 10.16mm | 340.19g
  • Disney-Hyperion
  • Disney Editions
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • colour illustrations
  • 1423171012
  • 9781423171010
  • 51,788

Review quote

The story is as old as time. Crocodile meets watermelon. Crocodile adores watermelon. Crocodile eats watermelon. Crocodile inadvertently swallows seed. Crocodile frets and worries and engages in histrionic apoplexy at certain I'm-gonna-turn-into-a-watermelon fate. Crocodile burps, expelling seed. Crocodile vows never to eat watermelon again. And the cycle repeats itself, presumably in perpetuity. With a sharp graphic sensibility, vibrant design, and adept characterization, Pizzoli spins the simple premise into a sweet confection, ripe with broad humor. Working in watermelon pink, apple green, and crisp black, blocked on buff stock, the artist manipulates his high-contrast palette to maximum effect. In his first-person rant, the crocodile pushes at the fourth wall, not quite breaking it, and certainly owes something to Mo Willems' titular pigeon in attitude and affect. But he is his own crocodile, with his own neurosis, and is sure to win his own fans and repeat readings.- Thom Barthelmess Booklist Online"show more

About Greg Pizzoli

Greg Pizzoli is an author, illustrator and screen printer. When not chomping down on watermelon, he can be found in his studio or teaching at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, where he also received his MFA. This is his first book. Visit him at www.gregpizzoli.com. Awards 2011 52nd Communication Arts Illustration Annual: Self Promotion Category 2011 Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators Illustrator Showcase Honor Awardshow more

Rating details

2,655 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 36% (943)
4 38% (999)
3 22% (580)
2 4% (110)
1 1% (23)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X