Watch Us Rise

Watch Us Rise

3.84 (4,041 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 
3.84 (4,041 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

A stirring and unputdownable read about what it means to be a woman today. Perfect for fans of Moxie and The Hate U Give.

'This stunning book is the story I've been waiting for my whole life; where girls rise up to claim their space with joy and power. I resolve to give a copy to every teenager I know!' Laurie Halse Anderson, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of SPEAK and SHOUT

'An extraordinary story of two indomitable spirits, the power of friendship, and what leadership looks like in the hands of young people today, Watch Us Rise is the novel we all need right now.' Brendan Kiely, New York Times bestselling co-author of ALL AMERICAN BOYS and TRADITION

Jasmine and Chelsea are best friends on a mission.

Sick of the way that young women are treated even at their 'progressive' New York City high school, they decide to start a Women's Rights Club. One problem - no one shows up. That hardly stops them. They start posting everything from videos of Chelsea performing her poetry to Jasmine's response to being reduced to a racist and sexist stereotype in the school's theatre department. And soon, they've gone viral, creating a platform they never could've predicted.

With such positive support, the Women's Rights Club is also targeted by trolls. But Jasmine and Chelsea won't let their voices - or those of the other young women in their city - be silenced. They'll risk everything to be heard and effect change ... but at what cost?
show more

Product details

  • 3-5
  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 30mm | 258g
  • Bloomsbury YA
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9781526600868
  • 246,451

Review Text

Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: An important and deeply moving novel. Highly recommended John Green
show more

Review quote

Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: An important and deeply moving novel. Highly recommended * John Green * Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: Timely and timeless, Piecing Me Together is a book about the ways young people deal with the hardships and heartbreak of everyday living while remaining whole and true to themselves * Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award winning author of BROWN GIRL DREAMING * Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: Watson, with rhythm and style, somehow gets at the toxicity of sympathy, the unquenchable thirst of fear, and the life-changing power of voice and opportunity, all wrapped up in Jade * Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling and award-winning coauthor of ALL AMERICAN BOYS * Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: A timely, nuanced and unforgettable story about the power of art, community and friendship * starred review, Kirkus Reviews * Readers who avidly follow American cultural politics will find much here to provoke and inspire. * CBI Reading Guide 2019-20 *
show more

About Ms Renee Watson

Renee Watson is the bestselling Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winning author of the novel Piecing Me Together as well as many others. Renee is the founder of I, Too, Arts Collective, a nonprofit committed to nurturing under-represented voices in the creative arts. She lives in New York City.
reneewatson.net
@harlemportland (Instagram)

Ellen Hagan is a writer, performer and educator. Her latest collection of poetry, Hemisphere, was published by Northwestern University Press, Spring 2015. This is her first novel. She lives with her husband and daughters in New York City.
ellenhagan.com
@ellenhagan (Twitter)
show more

Rating details

4,041 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 31% (1,260)
4 35% (1,407)
3 23% (945)
2 8% (310)
1 3% (119)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X