Warrior of Woden

Warrior of Woden

By (author) 

List price: US$19.23

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

Description

AD 642. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fifth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Oswald has reigned over Northumbria for eight years and Beobrand has led the king to ever greater victories. Rewarded for his fealty and prowess in battle, Beobrand is now a wealthy warlord, with a sizable warband. Tales of Beobrand's fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure he has amassed are told throughout the halls of the land.

Many are the kings who bow to Oswald. And yet there are those who look upon his realm with a covetous eye. And there is one ruler who will never kneel before him.

When Penda of Mercia, the great killer of kings, invades Northumbria, Beobrand is once more called upon to stand in an epic battle where the blood of many will be shed in defence of the kingdom.

But in this climactic clash between the pagan Penda and the Christian Oswald there is much more at stake than sovereignty. This is a battle for the very souls of the people of Albion.

What readers are saying about the series:

'Historical fiction doesn't get much better than this' ANGUS DONALD, author of The Outlaw Chronicles.

'Matthew Harffy's tale of England in the Dark Ages is nothing less than superb' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY.

'Murder, betrayal and vengeance fuel tribal warfare and personal combat. Beobrand is the warrior to follow' DAVID GILMAN.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 145 x 228mm
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • ANZ Only
  • 1786696290
  • 9781786696298
  • 487,061

Review quote

PRAISE FOR MATTHEW HARFFY:

'A tale that rings like sword song in the reader's mind. Harffy knows his genre inside out and The Cross and the Curse proves it' Giles Kristian.

'The author has done a brilliant job of drawing the reader in, and making you feel like you can actually see whats happening in your minds eye' Stephen Walker, Netgalley.
show more

About Matthew Harffy

Matthew grew up in Northumberland where the rugged terrain, ruined castles and rocky coastline had a huge impact on him. He now lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and their two daughters.
show more