Wardens of Eternity

Wardens of Eternity

3.62 (27 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Magic and magical creatures. Immortal gods and goddesses. History and mythology. Strap in for this action-packed YA novel that that takes place over the days leading up to World War II, when Ziva must rely on her wit and magic to outmaneuver Nazis and ancient Egyptian gods to prevent global destruction.

Ziva has one memory of her parents, made the day they abandoned her on the streets of New York City when she was three years old. They left her with only a memory and a promise that she had a great and terrible destiny.

Fifteen years later, Ziva discovers that destiny includes powers that she doesn't understand and can barely control. Her magic attracts vicious, otherworldly monsters, and eventually compatriots to help her fight them. Sayer and Nasira know the secrets Ziva doesn't; that Ziva is descended from Egyptian royalty and in possession of ancient magic passed down from the time of the gods. They promise to teach Ziva to control her magic and to give her the family she's always yearned for.

But trouble is brewing in the world around them; darkness is descending on Hitler's Germany, threatening World War II. As the last heir of a revered Egyptian queen, Ziva is the only one with the power to prevent another costly global conflict. As Ziva navigates her newfound abilities and makes a connection with Anubis and other Egyptian gods, the Nazis are hunting for the ultimate weapon, and Ziva has caught their interest.

Wardens of Eternity



Is written by Courtney Moulton, author of the acclaimed Angelfire series
Is an action-packed page-turner that blends history, mythology, and magic
Is a clean teen historical fantasy; perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Kiersten White
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 146 x 222 x 32mm | 435g
  • Blink
  • Grand Rapids, United States
  • English
  • 0310767180
  • 9780310767183

Review quote

In this action-packed fantasy set in 1939, an orphaned teenager discovers her heritage as part of a mysterious Egyptian tribe. Sworn to protect the world against evil, the Medjai are trying to resurrect their long-dead queen in order to prevent the outbreak of 'a second Great War.' For Ziva, who lost her family early on and grew up poor in New York City, being taken in by the Medjai is an opportunity to explore her cultural identity. As she wholeheartedly embraces the Medjai's mission to bring back the legendary Queen Nefertari, she trains in combat and hones her innate spell-casting abilities. The Medjai are opposed by certain gods, however, and even with the blessing of Anubis, lord of the dead, their task seems insurmountable. The worldbuilding occasionally feels unconvincing, and Ziva's transformation from penniless factory worker to globetrotting, magic-slinging Chosen One borders on implausible in its swiftness. But Moulton (Wings of the Wicked) offers a fierce, powerful heroine, an engaging premise, and plenty of magic-tinged cinematic moments. Readers may particularly enjoy Ziva's unbridled delight at finding people just like herself. Ages 13--up. Agent: Allison Remcheck, Stimola Literary Studio. (Jan.) * Publishers Weekly * A terrifically entertaining and compulsive page-turner of a fantasy action/adventure read from cover to cover, 'Wardens of Eternity' deftly showcases novelist Courtney Moulton's impressive flair for originality and her total mastery of the genre. * Midwest Book Review * Forthright in its commentary on colonization and racism, the deeper themes woven throughout help Moulton's (the Angelfire trilogy) latest stand out from other historical fantasy adventures. * Booklist *
show more

About Courtney Allison Moulton

Courtney Moulton was born in Texas and grew up in Michigan, where she spent a lifetime studying ancient civilizations and writing about magic and monsters. Her debut novel Angelfire was published when she was just 24 years old.
show more

Rating details

27 ratings
3.62 out of 5 stars
5 19% (5)
4 41% (11)
3 26% (7)
2 15% (4)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X