In Want of a Wife

In Want of a Wife

3.89 (783 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

-Dazzling- --Publishers Weekly (starred review) When his mail-order bride arrives from New York, a Wyoming rancher gets more than he bargained for in this first-rate romance from the bestselling Jo Goodman. For fans of Linda Lael Miller and Catherine Anderson.SHE HAS NOWHERE LEFT TO TURNJane Middlebourne needs a way out. In 1891, life in New York is unforgiving for a young woman with no prospects, especially when her family wants nothing to do with her. So when Jane discovers an ad for a mail-order bride needed in Bitter Springs, Wyoming, she responds with a hopeful heart. HE HAS EVERYTHING TO LOSERancher Morgan Longstreet is in want of a wife who will be his partner at Morning Star, someone who will work beside him and stand by him. His first impression of the fair and fragile Jane is that she is not that woman. But when she sets out to prove him wrong, the secrets he cannot share put into jeopardy every happiness they hope to find....show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 378 pages
  • 104.14 x 170.18 x 38.1mm | 181.44g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0425264173
  • 9780425264171
  • 342,910

Review quote

Praise for In Want of a Wife -Goodman makes a dazzling return trip to 1891 and the town of Bitter Springs, Wyoming.... in this page-turning historical that slyly pays tribute to Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Jane Middlebourne, the orphaned daughter of missionaries, longs to flee her bleak life in New York City. She agrees to be the mail-order bride of rancher Morgan Longstreet. Morgan is hoping for a sturdy wife who can help him run his ranch, so he's shocked by the delicate-looking woman who steps off the train. While at first the pairing seems incongruous, Jane and Morgan rapidly learn that opposites can attract, and Morgan finds that Jane is feistier than he gave her credit for being. But when Morgan's past comes back to haunt them, it could have consequences for the entire town, leading to a dramatic and engrossing finish. This first-rate tale easily measures up to its predecessors and will make readers eager for their next visit to Bitter Springs.- --Publishers Weekly (starred review) -A tender, engaging romance...a totally compelling read.- -Library Journal (starred review)-Goodman's fans will be thrilled with this newest story, a solid romance which achingly depicts...the unsettling beginning of a mail-order marriage. Once again, her meticulous research, signature eye for the telling detail, and ear for humor in a desperate time shine.- -BooklistAcclaim for Jo Goodman's previous novels True to the Law and The Last Renegade -Fans of western romance will be thrilled with this delightful addition to Goodman's strong list.- --Booklist-Simmering sexual tension, exceptional character development, and slowly revealed secrets make this a book to savor.---Library Journal-Humor and drama...a complicated, fast-paced, and deliciously believable story of love, sex, and secrets.- --Publishers Weekly-The Last Renegade plays out like the best classic western movies...Exceptional across the board, a sheer delight.- -Reader to Reader-*sigh* This author remains one of my absolute favorites. She can write the hell out of a book. I read her work and feel like she values my intelligence as a reader.- --Fiction Vixen-Jo Goodman is a master storyteller and one of the reasons I love historical romance so much....The Last Renegade is an outstanding historical western ...Even if American historicals aren't your cup of tea, Goodman's writing is brilliant enough to convince you otherwise. I guarantee you will not be disappointed!- --The Romance Dishshow more

About Jo Goodman

Jo Goodman is the USA Today bestselling author of True to the Law, The Last Renegade, and Kissing Comfort, .show more

Rating details

783 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 27% (214)
4 43% (339)
3 23% (178)
2 5% (38)
1 2% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X