4.29 (4,961 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Ender's Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, a war to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system.

Teen Tom Raines grew up with nothing--some days without even a roof over his head. Then his exceptional gaming skills earned him a spot in the Intrasolar Forces, the country's elite military training program, and his life completely changed.

Now in Vortex, the second book in the series, Tom discovers that the Pentagonal Spire, where he and his friends are being trained as superhuman weapons, is filled with corruption. He is asked to betray his friends--the first real friends he's ever had--for the sake of his country.

Will he sacrifice his new life to do what he believes is right?
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 390 pages
  • 134.62 x 203.2 x 27.94mm | 158.76g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062093037
  • 9780062093035
  • 117,898

Review quote

Kincaid combines a Harry Potter-like teen discovering that he has unknown abilities being sent to a special boarding school with the Ender s Game plotline of humanity s space battles being fought remotely by juveniles. She adds espionage, corporate skullduggery and multiple mysterious enemies to create a blockbuster of a debut. --School Library Journal (starred review)"
show more

Back cover copy

You're superhuman. A military weapon.
Your power knows no limits.
But what will you fight for?

Gamer kid Tom Raines and his friends--all superhuman government weapons-in-training--have entered their second year at the Pentagonal Spire, becoming midlevel cadets in the elite combat corps known as the Intrasolar Forces. But as training intensifies, Tom's loyalties are put to the test: betray his ideals and friendships for the sake of his country or sabotage his own future? Drawn into a dramatic power struggle, Tom faces a terrifying possibility: his idealism and bravado may have cost him everything--and everyone--that matters.

With action, intelligence, and humor, the second book in S. J. Kincaid's trilogy continues to explore fascinating questions about power, politics, technology, loyalty, and friendship.
show more

Rating details

4,961 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 48% (2,386)
4 37% (1,839)
3 12% (608)
2 2% (94)
1 1% (34)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X