Voice of America

Voice of America : Stories

3.61 (148 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$14.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"E.C. Osondu is a man with a clear head and a great ear, writing from crucial places." --Jonathan Franzen, author of Freedom and The Corrections

"With observant wonder and subtle humor, [Osondu] portrays...our unique capacity for hope and hopelessness rolled together." --Mary Gaitskill, author of Bad Behavior and Veronica

This collection of vivid, compulsively readable stories marks the debut of Nigerian author E.C. Osondu, winner of the 2009 Caine Prize for African Writing. In the tradition of Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, J.M. Coetzee, and Chinua Achebe (all patrons of the Caine Prize), Osondu's stories are wise, soul-stirring, and deeply compelling. In electrifying prose, he articulate the struggles of Nigerian immigrants in America, and refugees, villagers, and ex-patriots in Africa. Voice of America marks the beginning for a brave and remarkable new voice in African Literature.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 215 pages
  • 114.3 x 200.66 x 15.24mm | 158.76g
  • HARPER PERENNIAL
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0061990876
  • 9780061990878
  • 2,080,148

Review quote

"A big-hearted story collection. . . . Meticulous and energetic, these stories brim with stubborn hope sprung free from life's dark realities."--Elle
show more

Back cover copy

E.C. Osondu is a fearless and passionate new writer whose stories echo the joys and struggles of a cruel, beautiful world. His characters burst from the page--they fight, beg, love, grieve, but ultimately they are dreamers. Set in Nigeria and the United States, Voice of America moves from the fears and dreams of boys and girls in villages and refugee camps to the disillusionment and confusion of young married couples living in America, and then back to bustling Lagos.

Written with exhilarating energy and warmth, the stories of Voice of America are full of humor, pathos, and wisdom--an electrifying debut from a winner of the Caine Prize for African Writing.
show more

Rating details

148 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 16% (23)
4 41% (60)
3 34% (50)
2 10% (15)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X