The Virago Classic Collection

The Virago Classic Collection

  • Paperback

List price: US$51.79

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This boxed set of six books contains "Frost in May" by Antonia White; "The Enchanted April" by Elizabeth von Arnim; "Diary of a Provincial Lady" by E.M. Delafield; "The Return of the Soldier" by Rebecca West; "The Age of Innocence" by Edith Wharton and "The Edwardians" by Vita Sackville West. In "The Enchanted April", a discreet advertisement in "The Times" is the prelude to a revelatory month for four very different women. In "The Diary of a Provincial Lady" the delights and frustrations of provincial life are conveyed with charm and humour by one of the most popular heroines in 20th century literature. "The Return of the Soldier" is Rebecca West's first novel exploring the nurturing and life-sustaining force of women in a world governed by the destructuve powers of man. All that was best in fashionable society at the height of the Edwardian era - and all that was to lead to its downfall - is explored through the lives of Sebastian and Viola in "The Edwardians". "The Age of Innocence" is critical, compassionate and perceptive about both the individual and the defensiveness of society.
"Frost in May", Antonia White's most famous novel is much more than a school story: it is a lyrical account of the death of a soul.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback
  • 137 x 210mm | 1,786g
  • Virago Press Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 1853817333
  • 9781853817335