The Victoria in My Head

The Victoria in My Head

3.99 (429 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

A shy, rule-following teen joins a local rock band and finds herself caught between staying on the path she's always known and straying off-course to find love, adventure, and danger in this novel that's perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell.

Victoria Cruz inhabits two worlds: In one, she is a rock star, thrashing the stage with her husky voice and purple-streaked hair. In the other, currently serving as her reality, Victoria is a shy teenager with overprotective Cuban parents, who sleepwalks through her life at the prestigious Evanston Academy. Unable to overcome the whole paralyzing-stage-fright thing, Victoria settles for living inside her fantasies, where nothing can go wrong and everything is set to her expertly crafted music playlists.

But after a chance encounter with an unattainably gorgeous boy named Strand, whose band seeks a lead singer, Victoria is tempted to turn her fevered daydreams into reality. To do that, she must confront her insecurities and break away from the treadmill that is her life. Suddenly, Victoria is faced with the choice of staying on the path she's always known and straying off-course to find love, adventure, and danger.

From debut author Janelle Milanes comes a hilarious and heartfelt tale of the spectacular things that can happen when you go after what you really want.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 33mm | 336g
  • Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • f-c matte lam cvr w- spot UV
  • 1481480901
  • 9781481480901
  • 1,536,682

Review quote

"[A] brisk and confident debut." -Publishers Weekly

"An endearing, fast-paced read with a realistically sweet, if sheltered, first-generation-American protagonist." -Kirkus Reviews

"Victoria's ability to conquer her own fears in this coming- of-age story might inspire adolescents to follow their own dreams." -Booklist

"Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park will appreciate this slightly off-kilter romance and its ready-made playlist." -School Library Journal
show more

About Janelle Milanes

Janelle Milanes is the author of The Victoria in My Head and Analee, in Real Life. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their two cats. Her favorite Disney princess is Belle, since she was also a big book nerd.
show more

Rating details

429 ratings
3.99 out of 5 stars
5 34% (146)
4 36% (156)
3 25% (108)
2 3% (14)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X