The Vespertine

The Vespertine

3.44 (3,080 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

It s the summer of 1889, and Amelia van den Broek is new to Baltimore and eager to take in all the pleasures the city has to offer. But her gaiety is interrupted by disturbing, dreamlike visions she has only at sunset visions that offer glimpses of the future. Soon, friends and strangers alike call on Amelia to hear her prophecies. However, a forbidden romance with Nathaniel, an artist, threatens the new life Amelia is building in Baltimore. This enigmatic young man is keeping secrets of his own still, Amelia finds herself irrepressibly drawn to him. When one of her darkest visions comes to pass, Amelia s world is thrown into chaos. And those around her begin to wonder if she s not the seer of dark portents, but the cause. "
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 149.86 x 213.36 x 38.1mm | 385.55g
  • Boston, MA, United States
  • English
  • 0547482477
  • 9780547482477
  • 393,776

Review quote

Praise for "The Vespertine:
""[A] richly conceived historical romance. . . . Fans of Libba Bray's "A Great and Terrible Beauty" will find themselves enchanted by this atmospheric tale."
--"Bulletin
""Equal parts vivid period detail, gothic melodrama, and foreboding premonitions coming true . . . an absorbing tale."
--"Booklist
""Written in a passionate, inviting voice, "The Vespertine" is a rich, historical novel of otherworldly power, forbidden romance, and questionable motives."
--Aprilynne Pike, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of "Wings" and "Spells"
"Sheer pleasure from beginning to end."
--TeenReads.com
"I savored every word of "The Vespertine"; I knew it was an amazing book from the first page and I was entranced until the very last."
--Carrie Ryan, New York Times Bestselling Author of the critically-acclaimed "The Forest of Hands and Teeth" and "The Dead-Tossed Waves
""
"Praise for "The Springsweet:
""A lovely historical romance. . . . The author conjures a convincing picture of life on the Oklahoma prairie, painting an absorbing portrait of the landscape and of the people there. . . . A high-quality, absorbing drama."
--"Kirkus Reviews
"""The Springsweet" will steal your heart. Zora is a wounded heroine who had me cheering as she rediscovers the strength she thought she'd lost. Blend in a smoldering, yet refreshingly subtle hero, and add a twist of magic and you have a perfect romance in the Old West with another of Saundra Mitchell's signature rich and nuanced historic settings!"
--Aprilynne Pike, #1 NYT best-selling author of the "Wings" series
"I didn't think YA historicals could get better than "The Vespertine."" The Springsweet" proved me wrong. This is a gorgeous, unputdownable book that will stay with you long after it's through. Saundra Mitchell just gets better and better."
--Sarah MacLean, NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author of" Nine Rules to Break Whe
show more

Rating details

3,080 ratings
3.44 out of 5 stars
5 22% (681)
4 27% (846)
3 30% (914)
2 14% (430)
1 7% (209)

Our customer reviews

Also reviewed on my blog, The Vintage Bookworm. (www.vintagebookworm.blogspot.com) Although I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, and I really liked it, but I didn't love it. It is definitely a very intriguing book, but it wasn't one that I'm very excited to say, "OMG, this was amazing!". I find this book very hard to review and definitely very hard to rate. I was stuck in between rating is 3 and 4 stars, so maybe this book is really a 3.5. The plotline was very intriguing. A historical romance with a twist of something that is paranormal. The main character, Amelia, can see into the future at sunset; or as she calls them, Vespers. I found it kind of confusing at times, because it would show her in Baltimore with Zora, but then it would switch--forward?--to her back with her brother, August, and her being ruined. It was confusing, but then in the end I think I got it. But the characters were really interesting. I liked Amelia and Zora, though half the time I was like, "Go get Nathanial and Thomas already!!" but with their society, they couldn't exactly do that. That would suck living in their time! But at the same time, it's so romantic! Nathanial was kind of weird. He was there, and then he was gone, POOF! Which was explained after a little while, but I never really understood how he did that. Another paranormal twist? I really liked Thomas, though, he was sweet and proper. Overall, it is a great historical fiction novel. Not my favorite, but fun to read and very intriguing. I'm currently a chapter into the sequel now! I'm glad to be back in their world. I hope my review helped, though it was short and I couldn't really describe much! =)show more
by Amanda
Amelia spends the summer in Baltimore with her cousin, Zora, in hopes of finding a proper husband during the season. As it will be her only season, Amelia has really high hopes for this summer. At her very first party, she meets an artist who's only invited to make sure the table has an even number. Even though he's beneath her, she looks forward to meeting him again. Meanwhile, her cousin's in love with Thomas, a boy from town. One evening, while looking out the window, Amelia has a vision of her cousin wearing an elegant gown and dancing with Thomas. When that vision comes true, Zora begins to spread the word. Soon, other girls are coming to see Amelia and Zora. Calling cards from all levels of society appear. Everyone wants to have their future told. The girls happily oblige the crowds - they've never been more popular. However, not all of the visions are delightful. Some are dark, and unfortunately, the dark visions Amelia has also come true. When this happens, will the two cousins still be looked upon favorably? A lush, romantic tale blending the Victorian era with the paranormal, THE VESPERTINE hints at the darkness of the story in the beginning of the book. The time period shifts back and forth between before and after the season. Amelia and Zoe's friendship thrives, making the time of fancy dresses, balls, calling cards, and societal rules come alive.show more
by TeensReadToo
When writing a review, I usually start with a short description of what was the book about. This time, I'm going to skip that, because I'm not even sure I'd get all of it right. I've read many historical novels, some of them even using the old dialects but this...this was really something. So you can imagine my delight, when I got used to the language somewhere after the first quarter of the book and started to enjoy it. And oh, I enjoyed it very much :) Despite the fact, that Amelia, our heroine, was living hundred years before I was even born, I found very easy to relate to her. It was funny to discover, that girls at the end of the 19th century had the same problems as girls at the beginning of the 21st century: who to love, what to wear, where to party. To be honest, there isn't much of a suspense to speak about, but Saundra decided to shock us by dropping some serious bombs when you less expected it. It made the book almost unputdownable. And of course I can't omit to tell you about Amelia's sweetheart, Nathaniel, whose every word made me giggle like a 15-year-old (which I'm not by a long shot). Even if I didn't have a soft spot for artists, I'd fall in love with his wit and protectiveness towards Amelia. Oh, and don't forget the looks! Yeah, he was definitely an eye-candy :) What I didn't like about this book was it's ending. I wanted some drama, I even wanted the cliffhanger but what I got was more or less perfect closure of the first book and it just didn't feel right to me. In spite of this, I loved the Vespertine and I'd recommend it to every YA paranormal fiction lover as well as any historical fiction lover. The book brought a fresh air into the young adult genre and I can't wait for the next part of Amelia's and Nathaniel's journey.show more
by Judita Páleníková
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X