The Very White of Love

The Very White of Love

4 (18 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

`A love story told in exquisitely poetic letters' DAILY MAIL
`A powerful and tender tale of love and war.' SUNDAY MIRROR

Torn apart by war, their letters meant everything...




`My love. I am writing to you without knowing where you are but I will find you after all these long months...'



3rd September 1938. Martin Preston is in his second year of Oxford when his world is split in two by a beautiful redhead, Nancy Whelan. A whirlwind romance blossoms in the Buckinghamshire countryside as dark clouds begin to gather in Europe.


3rd September 1939. Britain declares war on Germany. Martin is sent to the battlefields of France, but as their letters cross the channel, he tells Nancy their love will keep him safe. Then, one day, his letters stop.


3rd September 1940. It's four months since Nancy last heard from Martin. She knows he is still alive. And she'll do anything to find him. But what she discovers will change her life forever...



Perfect for fans of Suite Francaise, My Dear I Wanted To Tell You and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.



What readers are saying about The Very White of Love:
`Wow, this blew me away!'


`I absolutely loved it. One seriously fantastic book.'


`A riveting read.'


`Beautifully written... a real rollercoaster of emotions.'


`A wonderful discovery.'


`Powerful! Tragic! Do they make love like this anymore?'


`Heart-wrenching and powerful.'
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 159 x 240 x 36mm | 600g
  • HQ
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0008217491
  • 9780008217495
  • 1,855,305

Review quote

`A love story told in exquisitely poetic letters' DAILY MAIL


`An unforgettable read that draws you into the tenderness, heartbreak and drama of Nancy and Martin's love story.' WOMAN MAGAZINE


[A] powerful story of love and war...hauntingly poetic.' THE SUNDAY POST


`Touchingly intimate yet scorchingly dramatic... The Very White of Love takes you step by step into another time, heartfelt and beautiful.' LOVEREADING


`Simon Worrall's The Very White of Love is one of those books that after a few chapters, becomes as vital and immediate as real life; an elegant, heart-pounding narrative that bears all the hallmarks of great literature and classic Hollywood.' - SIMON VAN BOOY, author of Love Begins in Winter
show more

About S. C. Worrall

S. C. Worrall was born in Wellington, England and spent his childhood in Eritrea, Paris and Singapore. Since 1984, he has been a full-time, freelance journalist and book author. He has written for National Geographic, GQ, The London Times and The Guardian. He has also made frequent appearances on Radio & TV, including the BBC's From Our Own Correspondent; NPR and PBS. He speaks six languages and has lived in or visited more than 70 countries. The Very White of Love is his debut novel.
show more

Rating details

18 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 50% (9)
4 17% (3)
3 17% (3)
2 17% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X