Velocity Weapon

Velocity Weapon : Book One of The Protectorate

3.84 (3,388 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

'A brilliantly plotted yarn of survival and far-future political intrigue' Guardian

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE PHILIP K. DICK AWARD***

The last thing Sanda remembers is her gunship exploding.

She expected to be recovered by salvage-medics and to awaken in friendly hands, patched-up and ready to rejoin the fight. Instead she wakes up 230 years later, on a deserted enemy starship called The Light of Berossus - or, as he prefers to call himself, 'Bero'.

Bero tells Sanda the war is lost. That the entire star system is dead.

But is that the full story? After all, in the vastness of space, anything is possible . . .

Dazzling space battles, deadly galactic politics and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, an epic space opera from award-winning author Megan E. O'Keefe.

Praise for Velocity Weapon

'An entertaining SF thriller' SciFiNow

'Furious action sequences, funny dialogue, and a plot that will keep you guessing every step of the way' K. B. Wagers

'Velocity Weapon is fast-paced, twisty, edge-of-your-seat fun. Space opera fans are in for a massive treat!'
Marina J. Lostetter
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 544 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 40mm | 360g
  • ORBIT
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356512223
  • 9780356512228
  • 136,112

Review quote

A brilliantly plotted yarn of survival and far-future political intrigue * Guardian * A complicated, thoughtful tale that skillfully interweaves intrigue, action, and strong characterization * Publishers Weekly * Full of twists, feints, and deception, O'Keefe's latest presents a visionary world rife with
political intrigue and space adventure * Booklist - starred review * A well-written tale of space adventure, underhanded political dealings and AI rights all wrapped up in a fast-paced plot and a well-thought-out world. A must-read for fans of James S. A. Corey and Alastair Reynolds * Bookbag * Meticulously plotted, edge-of-your-seat space opera with a soul; a highly promising science-fiction debut * Kirkus * O'Keefe keeps the pace pumping, timing the big twists perfectly * SFX * An entertaining SF thriller * SciFiNow * A mix of space opera action and interplanetary political shenanigans, Velocity Weapon is a good match for readers of John Scalzi * Omnivoracious/Amazon Book Review * A great premise, compelling plot, and engaging cast of characters . . . from an author worth keeping an eye on * Amazing Stories * The twists come fast and furious . . . This one shouldn't be overlooked * B&N Scifi & Fantasy Blog *
show more

About Megan E. O'Keefe

Megan E. O'Keefe was raised amongst journalists, and as soon as she was able joined them by crafting a newsletter which chronicled the daily adventures of the local cat population. She has worked in both arts management and graphic design, and has won Writers of the Future and the Gemmell Morningstar Award. Velocity Weapon, the first novel in her Protectorate series, was nominated for the Philip K. Dick Award for Best Novel. Megan lives in the Bay Area of California.
show more

Rating details

3,388 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 25% (854)
4 44% (1,490)
3 23% (773)
2 6% (200)
1 2% (71)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X