Veiled in Smoke
7%
off

Veiled in Smoke

4.2 (922 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Meg and Sylvie Townsend manage the family bookshop and care for their father, Stephen, a veteran still suffering in mind and spirit from his time as a POW during the Civil War. But when the Great Fire sweeps through Chicago's business district, they lose much more than just their store.

The sisters become separated from their father and make a harrowing escape from the flames with the help of Chicago Tribune reporter Nate Pierce. Once the smoke clears away, they reunite with Stephen, only to learn soon after that their family friend was murdered on the night of the fire. Even more shocking, Stephen is charged with the crime and committed to the Cook County Insane Asylum.

Though homeless and suddenly unemployed, Meg must not only gather the pieces of her shattered life, but prove her father's innocence before the asylum truly drives him mad.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 33.02mm | 365g
  • Bethany House Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group
  • Ada, MI, United States
  • English
  • 0764233300
  • 9780764233302
  • 916,098

Back cover copy

The Flames Took So Much.She Can't Lose Her Father As Well.Meg Townsend and her sister, Sylvie, seek a quiet existence managing the family bookshop. Meg feels responsible for caring for their father, Stephen, whose spirit and health are both damaged from his time as a prisoner during the Civil War. Her one escape is the paintings she creates and sells in the bookshop.Then the Great Fire sweeps through Chicago's business district. The fiery explosions and chaos stir up memories of war for Stephen as he runs from the blaze and becomes separated from his daughters. Days later, when the smoke has cleared, Meg and Sylvie manage to reunite with him. Their home and shop are lost, and what's left among the ashes may be even more threatening than the flames, for they learn that a close friend was murdered the night of the fire--and Stephen has been charged with the crime. After he is committed to the Cook County Insane Asylum, where they cannot visit him, Stephen feels as lost to them as the shop that now lies in rubble. Though homeless and suddenly unemployed, Meg must not only gather the pieces of her shattered life but prove the truth of what happened that night, before the asylum truly drives her father mad."Christy Award-winner Green sets this tumultuous, affecting tale against the backdrop of the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. . . . Green engagingly weaves subtle faith elements into the mystery and romance. Fans of Lisa Wingate will enjoy this."--Publishers Weekly"History, mystery, romance, and faith combine in the first book in the Christy Award-winning Green's Windy City Saga. Recommend to readers who enjoy Lisa Wingate and Elizabeth Camden."--Booklist"With strong supporting characters and historical facts woven throughout, Veiled in Smoke makes for a great read."--BookPage"The characters have captivating personalities that drive the plot forward and enrich relationship dynamics. The chaos and fear at that time in Chicago's history are deftly penned. . . . This is a story of resilience, faith, and the human spirit. An extremely enjoyable, well-researched, and emotionally compelling tale."--Historical Novel Review
show more

About Jocelyn Green

Jocelyn Green is the award-winning and bestselling author of numerous fiction and nonfiction books, including The Mark of the King, A Refuge Assured, and Between Two Shores. Her books have garnered starred reviews from Booklist and Publishers Weekly and have been honored with the Christy Award and the Golden Scroll. Jocelyn lives with her family in Cedar Falls, Iowa. Visit her at www.jocelyngreen.com.
show more

Rating details

922 ratings
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 45% (411)
4 36% (331)
3 16% (145)
2 3% (28)
1 1% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X