The Vatican Princess

The Vatican Princess

3.83 (2,320 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$45.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty s ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival?
With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father s elevation are the new pope s illegitimate children his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter Lucrezia each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family s fortunes. But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment s notice as Italy s ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia s father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood.
Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, "The" "Vatican Princess "is the first novel to describe Lucrezia s coming-of-age in her own voice. What results is a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same, and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse.
Advance praise for "The Vatican Princess"
Elegantly written and deeply researched, with a pacy style and a fine eye for contemporary detail . . . The world of Renaissance Italy is vividly brought to life I m captivated by this knowledgeable author s take on the controversial Borgias. Alison Weir, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen"
A spiderweb of Renaissance intrigue with a cast of legendary characters, "The Vatican Princess" tells Lucrezia Borgia s story in her own words. Impressive research, a lush background, and deft characterization of these turbulent times make for a fascinating read. Margaret George, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Elizabeth I"
Atale of passion, political intrigue, and poisonous power. Assiduously researched and expertly crafted, this novel takes readers inside the treacherous world of the Borgias one of history s most dysfunctional ruling families and brings to life the sympathetic and freshly imagined character of their leading lady, Lucrezia. This unholy plunge into Rome s darkest dynasty is wholly engrossing. Allison Pataki, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Sisi
"
Immerses us in the vibrant, sometimes terrifying world of Renaissance Rome . . . A marvelously evocative portrait of a young woman caught in a bewildering web of jealousy, family rivalry, vengeance, and papal politics. Historical fiction at its best, written by a master of the genre. Patricia Bracewell, author of "Shadow on the Crown" "From the Hardcover edition.""
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • Random House US Audio
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 0147526477
  • 9780147526472

Review quote

Praise for C. W. Gortner
"The Queen s Vow"
A masterwork by a skilled crafstman . . . Make a vow to read this book. "New York Journal of Books"
A beautifully crafted piece of historical fiction . . . Gortner s vivid details blend with his deeply intensive research to re-create Isabella and Castile in a way that the reader will find compelling and immersive, bringing not just the Queen but the whole nation to life. "RT Book Reviews"
"The Confessions of Catherine de Medici"
Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory fans will devour this smashing fictional biography. "Booklist"
""
Highly recommended . . . fascinating. "Historical Novels Review"
"The Last Queen"
An absorbing account of one of history s most fascinating women. Donna Woolfolk Cross, author of "Pope Joan"
Emotional and political tensions soar . . . Disturbing royal secrets and court manipulations wickedly twist this enthralling story, brilliantly told. "Publishers Weekly""
show more

Rating details

2,320 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 26% (595)
4 42% (967)
3 25% (575)
2 6% (139)
1 2% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X