Variant

Variant

3.93 (22,178 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Benson Fisher thought that a scholarship to Maxfield Academy would be the ticket out of his dead-end life.

He was wrong.

Now he's trapped in a school that's surrounded by a razor-wire fence. A school where video cameras monitor his every move. Where there are no adults. Where the kids have split into groups in order to survive.

Where breaking the rules equals death.

But when Benson stumbles upon the school's real secret, he realizes that playing by the rules could spell a fate worse than death, and that escape--his only real hope for survival--may be impossible.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 144 x 209 x 32mm | 464g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062026089
  • 9780062026088
  • 668,704

Review quote

"An intense journey with some of the most shocking twists and turns I've ever read." -- Pittacus Lore, #1 New York Times bestselling author of I Am Number Four

"A chilling, masterful debut. With its clever premise, quick pace, and easy-to-champion characters, Wells' story is a fast, gripping read with a cliffhanger that will leave readers wanting more." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Variant is a compelling story on so many levels. I loved it! The twist behind it all is my favorite since Ender's Game." -- James Dashner, New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner

"An exciting, edge-of-your-seat read that combines psychological themes from works like Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games and Ender's Game in a truly unique way. Variant should join the ranks of today's must-read science fiction and fantasy series. A highly recommended addition to any collection for teens." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (starred review)

"Benson's account unfolds in a speedy, unadorned first person. Hard to put down from the very first page, this fast-paced novel answers only some of the questions it poses, holding some of the most tantalizing open for the next installment in a series that is anything but ordinary." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Good old-fashioned paranoia taken to giddy extremes. Take Veronica Roth's Divergent, strip out the angst, add a Michael Grant-level storytelling pace, and you have this very satisfying series starter." -- Booklist

"Fans seeking a fast-paced, action-heavy read will find this generates a lot of excitement." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Filled with heart-racing action and suspense. An impressive debut with wide appeal, especially for fans of Alexander Gordon Smith's Lockdown and James Dashner's The Maze Runner." -- School Library Journal
show more

About Robison Wells

Robison Wells is also the author of Blackout, Variant, and Feedback. Variant was a Publishers Weekly Best Book and a YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers. Robison lives in the Rocky Mountains in a house not too far from elk pastures. His wife, Erin, is a better person than he will ever be, and their three kids cause mischief and/or joy.
show more

Rating details

22,178 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 33% (7,338)
4 37% (8,100)
3 23% (5,061)
2 6% (1,300)
1 2% (379)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X