The Vanishing Season

The Vanishing Season

3.41 (3,803 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes a haunting and lovely small-town romance, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson.

When Maggie's parents move them from bustling Chicago to small, rundown Door County, Wisconsin, she thinks she'll spend a year reading classics and killing time until college.

That plan changes as soon as she meets Pauline and Liam. Soon the three are inseparable, stretching out the love between two childhood best friends to fit over all of them and all their grand dreams.

But what starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes. Someone is killing teenage girls, and the town reels from each new tragedy. And as the dynamics between Maggie, Pauline, and Liam shift and collide in irreversible ways, they all will experience love and loss hand-in-hand--but only two of them will survive the winter.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 150 x 218 x 23mm | 363g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062003275
  • 9780062003270
  • 939,392

Back cover copy

Girls started vanishing in the fall, and now winter's come to lay a white sheet over the horror. Door County, it seems, is swallowing the young, right into its very dirt. From beneath the house on Water Street, I've watched the danger swell.

The residents know me as the noises in the house at night, the creaking on the stairs. I'm the reflection behind them in the glass, the feeling of fear in the cellar. I'm tied--it seems--to this house, this street, this town.

I'm tied to Maggie and Pauline, though I don't know why. I think it's because death is coming for one of them, or both.

All I know is that the present and the past are piling up, and I am here to dig.I am looking for the things that are buried.

From bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes a friendship story bound in snow and starlight, a haunting mystery of love, betrayal, redemption, and the moments that we leave behind.
show more

Review quote

Praise for THE VANISHING SEASON: "Anderson once again works her magic to conjure evocative settings and soulful protagonists in this modern gothic romance. This tantalizing novel offers a singular perspective on a complicated love triangle and a tragedy." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for THE VANISHING SEASON: "An intensely gripping tale with a surprise ending that's fully earned." -- Kirkus Reviews

Praise for THE VANISHING SEASON: "For readers who savor the ambiguities of unrequited love and the greys of the here and hereafter, The Vanishing Season will end well." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Praise for THE VANISHING SEASON: "A heartbreaking story full of mystery, love, redemption, and betrayal. The subtle writing draws the reader in from the beginning, while the complex and intriguing characters beautifully drive the measured pacing of the plot...Coupled with a startling conclusion that make this such a powerful read." -- School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for THE VANISHING SEASON: "This is a book to be read twice through, once for the sweetly tragic love story and mystery, and a second time for the subtle imagery and metaphorical connections." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

Praise for THE VANISHING SEASON: "Readers who like their romances tragic and dreamy should dive in." -- Booklist

Praise for TIGER LILY: "Guided by fragile, insect-size faerie Tink, readers are drawn into this richly re-imagined Neverland. Working with the darker threads of Barrie's bittersweet classic, Anderson weaves an enchanting tale." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for TIGER LILY: "The mythology of Neverland is eloquently woven into the story, and characters are reborn in fascinating ways...Readers will find it hard to resist being drawn into Tiger Lily's world, where dangers and emotions are painted several shades darker than in J.M. Barrie's classic fantasy." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for TIGER LILY: "Its many layers create a place of dangerous wonder. Tiger Lily has been reinvented with a complex backstory, giving her a credible source of deep strength and dark emotion." -- School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for TIGER LILY: "Serious and moving." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

Praise for TIGER LILY: "This unique retelling of PETER PAN by J. M. Barrie has a literary feel, lush descriptions, and a mysterious but sympathetic main character...A sophisticated fantasy, a new spin on a classic tale." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Praise for TIGER LILY: "In expressive, graceful language, Anderson tells the story of the fierce Tiger Lily and her thorny romance with the legendary Peter Pan. Its sensitive, passionate portrayal of familiar characters...is captivating." -- Booklist

Praise for TIGER LILY: "With this quiet and bittersweet story, readers will never again think of Peter Pan as simple animation." -- BookPage

Praise for PEACHES: "Funny, free, and utterly imaginative, Jodi Lynn Anderson's writing is packed with loveliness." -- Ann Brashares, national bestselling author of THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELLING PANTS

Praise for PEACHES: "A novel about broken hearts, broken spirits and the healing power of friendship. Anderson's tale encapsulates the state of ennui and anticipation that accompanies the last stretch of adolescence." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

Rating details

3,803 ratings
3.41 out of 5 stars
5 19% (720)
4 29% (1,085)
3 32% (1,234)
2 14% (549)
1 6% (215)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X