The Vanishing Season

The Vanishing Season

3.43 (3,113 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes a haunting and lovely small-town romance, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson.

When Maggie's parents move them from bustling Chicago to small, rundown Door County, Wisconsin, she thinks she'll spend a year reading classics and killing time until college.

That plan changes as soon as she meets Pauline and Liam. Soon the three are inseparable, stretching out the love between two childhood best friends to fit over all of them and all their grand dreams.

But what starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes. Someone is killing teenage girls, and the town reels from each new tragedy. And as the dynamics between Maggie, Pauline, and Liam shift and collide in irreversible ways, they all will experience love and loss hand-in-hand--but only two of them will survive the winter.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 247 pages
  • 150 x 218 x 23mm | 363g
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062003275
  • 9780062003270
  • 772,126

Back cover copy

Girls started vanishing in the fall, and now winter's come to lay a white sheet over the horror. Door County, it seems, is swallowing the young, right into its very dirt. From beneath the house on Water Street, I've watched the danger swell.

The residents know me as the noises in the house at night, the creaking on the stairs. I'm the reflection behind them in the glass, the feeling of fear in the cellar. I'm tied--it seems--to this house, this street, this town.

I'm tied to Maggie and Pauline, though I don't know why. I think it's because death is coming for one of them, or both.

All I know is that the present and the past are piling up, and I am here to dig.I am looking for the things that are buried.

From bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes a friendship story bound in snow and starlight, a haunting mystery of love, betrayal, redemption, and the moments that we leave behind.
show more

Review quote

Praise for PEACHES: "A novel about broken hearts, broken spirits and the healing power of friendship. Anderson's tale encapsulates the state of ennui and anticipation that accompanies the last stretch of adolescence."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

Rating details

3,113 ratings
3.43 out of 5 stars
5 20% (633)
4 28% (886)
3 31% (975)
2 14% (450)
1 5% (169)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X