Vanished Kingdoms
12%
off

Vanished Kingdoms : The Rise and Fall of States and Nations

3.86 (2,025 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From the bestselling author of Europe: A History comes a uniquely ambitious masterpiece that will thrill fans of lost civilizations While Germany, Italy, France, and England dominate our conceptions of Europe, these modern states are relatively recent constructs. In this brilliant work of historical reconstruction, Norman Davies brings back to life the long-forgotten empire of Aragon, which once controlled the Western Mediterranean; the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, once the largest country in Europe, and the Kingdom of the Rock, founded by ancient Britons when neither England nor Scotland existed. In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, Davies subverts our established view of the past and urges us to reconsider the impetus for the rise and fall of nations.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 830 pages
  • 149.86 x 226.06 x 38.1mm | 816.46g
  • Penguin Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Maps; Illustrations, color; Illustrations, black and white
  • 0143122959
  • 9780143122951
  • 192,887

Review quote

"Davies is certainly one of the best British historical writers of the past half century, and every gauntlet he throws down is bejeweled. His literary gifts and his capacity for what he nicely calls 'imaginative sympathy' are stretched to their limits by this challenging project. . . . Yet Davies succeeds, and it is quite a success."

--Timothy Snyder, "The Guardian"
show more

About Norman Davies

Norman Davies is the bestselling author of several acclaimed books, including Europe: A History; Rising '44: The Battle for Warsaw; and No Simple Victory: World War II in Europe, 1939-1945. He lives in Oxford, England, and Cracow, Poland.
show more

Rating details

2,025 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 30% (605)
4 38% (779)
3 22% (445)
2 7% (149)
1 2% (47)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X