V Is for Villain

V Is for Villain

3.97 (1,042 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own. But when they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. And once he does, there's no turning back.
Perfect for fans of The Avengers, Ironman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 327 pages
  • 147 x 211 x 33mm | 499g
  • Los Angeles, United States
  • English
  • 1423157494
  • 9781423157496
  • 1,265,879

Review quote

PRAISE FOR RED MOON RISING "The details are imaginative and believable, as are the social interactions at school and in Danny's home. This is a nifty book to pair with discussions about race and class, and a few direct references to Nazis also make it potentially useful for history connections."--Booklist
show more

About Peter Moore

Peter Moore (petermoorebooks.com) has been fascinated with superheroes since he was old enough to trip over his own cape. (He didn't make a very graceful hero.) After a brief life of crime (he shoplifted some candy and got caught) he decided to devote his energy to the forces of good. Lacking super-strength, he took to working out and became strong. Lacking super-intelligence, he studied hard in high school and read a lot, which enabled him to attend Vassar College and Columbia University. Lacking superior fighting skills, he trained in boxing and Goju-Ryu karate. Finding job opportunities for aspiring heroes to be scarce, he instead has worked as a screenwriter, college professor, English teacher, film teacher, and guidance counselor. He lives with his wife and two kids in an undisclosed headquarters somewhere in New York state where he allegedly works on his writing. This is his fourth book for young adults. He strongly denies allegations that any character in this book is based on him.
show more

Rating details

1,042 ratings
3.97 out of 5 stars
5 34% (350)
4 38% (393)
3 22% (229)
2 6% (59)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X