Uprooted

Uprooted

4.15 (58,557 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$21.25

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life. Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood's powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood. The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia - all the things Agnieszka isn't - and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her. But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him. From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 448 pages
  • 160 x 239 x 39mm | 716g
  • Pan MacMillan
  • Tor
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed.
  • 1447294130
  • 9781447294139
  • 10,280

Review quote

Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight. CASSANDRA CLARE The magic in Uprooted, with its realistic moral dimension, is so vividly believable that it almost seems you could work the spells. But the book will do that for you. URSULA K. LE GUIN Wild, thrilling, and deeply, darkly magical. An instant classic. LEV GROSSMAN Magical and practical, otherworldly and planted in the real, I could NOT stop reading this book and neither will you! -- TAMORA PIERCE Uprooted by Naomi Novik is enchanting, in every sense of that fine old word. A charming and inviting story that looks unflinchingly at the strangling roots of hurt and revenge. -- ROBIN HOBB Uprooted is one of those tales you come back to over and over again because it's just that enchanting. The adventure builds with such tension that you are peeking through your hands at the end, hoping it will all be okay, and Novik delivers a conclusion that's deeply satisfying, earning a permanent space on my bookshelf that I'll revisit often. -- KEVIN HEARN Naomi Novik's Uprooted is a marvelous fantasy reminiscent of Howl's Moving Castle and vastly superior to The Hobbit. Her characters, setting, and the magic they use are all brilliant. I devoured the book in one reading. Well done! I want more! -- TODD MCCAFFREY The roots of Uprooted are planted deep in fairy tale lore, but the story that Naomi Novik has coaxed forth is fresh and compelling. It reads like a previously undiscovered origin myth in the best possible way! -- JACQUELINE CAREY Every so often you come upon a story that seems like a lost tale of Grimm newly come to light. Uprooted is such a novel. Its narrative spell is confidently wrought and sympathetically cast. I might even call it bewitching. -- GREGORY MAGUIRE I didn't know how much I wanted to read a book like this until it was already in my hands. Uprooted has everything I love about Novik's writing style, with the added bonus of some old world magic and the flavor of a dark faerie story. PATRICK ROTHFUSS Reading Uprooted was like rediscovering a favorite old sweater, familiar and beloved. It feels as if it has always existed and has been waiting patiently for me to return to it. MAGGIE STIEFVATER The most darkly compelling fantasy I've read in ages, Uprooted is overflowing with profound dread and real beauty, and boasts a heroine who blazes with spirit and originality. Not to be missed! CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight. CASSANDRA CLARE Uprooted by Naomi Novik is enchanting, in every sense of that fine old word. A charming and inviting story that looks unflinchingly at the strangling roots of hurt and revenge. -- ROBIN HOBB The magic in Uprooted, with its realistic moral dimension, is so vividly believable that it almost seems you could work the spells. But the book will do that for you. URSULA K. LE GUIN I didn't know how much I wanted to read a book like this until it was already in my hands. Uprooted has everything I love about Novik's writing style, with the added bonus of some old world magic and the flavor of a dark faerie story. PATRICK ROTHFUSS Magical and practical, otherworldly and planted in the real, I could NOT stop reading this book and neither will you! -- TAMORA PIERCE Wild, thrilling, and deeply, darkly magical. An instant classic. LEV GROSSMAN Naomi Novik's Uprooted is a marvelous fantasy reminiscent of Howl's Moving Castle and vastly superior to The Hobbit. Her characters, setting, and the magic they use are all brilliant. I devoured the book in one reading. Well done! I want more! -- TODD MCCAFFREY Uprooted is one of those tales you come back to over and over again because it's just that enchanting. The adventure builds with such tension that you are peeking through your hands at the end, hoping it will all be okay, and Novik delivers a conclusion that's deeply satisfying, earning a permanent space on my bookshelf that I'll revisit often. -- KEVIN HEARN The roots of Uprooted are planted deep in fairy tale lore, but the story that Naomi Novik has coaxed forth is fresh and compelling. It reads like a previously undiscovered origin myth in the best possible way! -- JACQUELINE CAREY Every so often you come upon a story that seems like a lost tale of Grimm newly come to light. Uprooted is such a novel. Its narrative spell is confidently wrought and sympathetically cast. I might even call it bewitching. -- GREGORY MAGUIRE The most darkly compelling fantasy I've read in ages, Uprooted is overflowing with profound dread and real beauty, and boasts a heroine who blazes with spirit and originality. Not to be missed! CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN Reading Uprooted was like rediscovering a favorite old sweater, familiar and beloved. It feels as if it has always existed and has been waiting patiently for me to return to it. MAGGIE STIEFVATER A beguiling novel Independent, SFF Books of the Yeayshow more

About Naomi Novik

Naomi Novik is the acclaimed author of the Temeraire series. She has been nominated for the Hugo Award and has won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, as well as the Locus Award for Best New Writer and the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. She is also the author of the graphic novel Will Supervillains Be on the Final? Fascinated with both history and legends, Novik is a first-generation American raised on Polish fairy tales and stories of Baba Yaga. Her own adventures include pillaging degrees in English literature and computer science from various ivory towers, designing computer games, and helping to build the Archive of Our Own for fanfiction and other fanworks. Novik is a co-founder of the Organization for Transformative Works. She lives in New York City with husband and Hard Case Crime founder Charles Ardai and their daughter, Evidence, surrounded by an excessive number of purring computers.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X