Up Up, Down Down
19%
off

Up Up, Down Down : Essays

4.3 (30 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Wells Tower, a "glittering," (Leslie Jamison), "always smart, often hilarious, and ultimately transcendent" (Anthony Doerr) linked essay collection from the managing editor of Tin House that brilliantly explores the nature of identity. Daring and wise, hilarious and tender, Cheston Knapp's exhilarating collection of seven linked essays, Up Up, Down Down, tackles the Big Questions through seemingly unlikely avenues. In his dexterous hands, an examination of a local professional wrestling promotion becomes a meditation on pain and his relationship with his father. A profile of UFO enthusiasts ends up probing his history in the church and, more broadly, the nature and limits of faith itself. Attending an adult skateboarding camp launches him into a virtuosic analysis of nostalgia. And the shocking murder of a neighbor expands into an interrogation of our culture's prevailing ideas about community and the way we tell the stories of our lives. Even more remarkable, perhaps, is the way he manages to find humanity in a damp basement full of frat boys. Taken together, the essays in Up Up, Down Down amount to a chronicle of Knapp's coming-of-age, a young man's journey into adulthood, late-onset as it might appear. He presents us with formative experiences from his childhood to marriage that echo throughout the collection, and ultimately tilts at what may be the Biggest Q of them all: what are the hazards of becoming who you are? With "an ordnance of wit" (Wells Tower) and "a prose style that feels both extravagant and exact, and a big, booming heart" (Maggie Nelson), Up Up, Down Down signals the arrival of a truly one-of-a-kind voice.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 142 x 213 x 30mm | 408g
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 1501161024
  • 9781501161025
  • 1,041,344

Review quote

"Cheston Knapp's Up Up, Down Down has the uncanny, welcome ability to make so-called mainstream or dominant culture--white, masculinist, Christian, frat boy, and so on--appear newly strange, and newly open to analysis. He has the eye and ear of an anthropologist, a joyously expansive vocabulary, a prose style that feels both extravagant and exact, and a big, booming heart."--Maggie Nelson, author of The Argonauts
show more

Rating details

30 ratings
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 53% (16)
4 27% (8)
3 17% (5)
2 3% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X