Until the Beginning

Until the Beginning

3.7 (2,788 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Amy Plum, internationally bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a heart-pounding adventure perfect for fans of Michael Grant, Veronica Rossi, and Alexandra Bracken. Until the Beginning is the sequel to After the End, which Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend series and the Young Elites series, called "wonderfully riveting." In this stunning and exhilarating conclusion to the duology, Juneau has been searching for her people and for answers ...and she is about to find both. When Juneau's clan disappeared, she lost so much more than her friends and family. She soon discovered everything she thought she knew about her life was a lie. Her people's gifts were actually secret abilities that others wanted, desperately enough to kidnap an entire village. Juneau set off on a cross-country journey with her new companion, Miles, to find her clan, which led them to a game preserve in New Mexico. Now Juneau's people are finally within reach, and she will stop at nothing to save them. But she has a target on her back too, because unbeknownst to her she is the key to unlocking everything.
To rescue her people-and herself-Juneau must discover what she and her abilities are truly capable of.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 147.32 x 213.36 x 33.02mm | 408.23g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062225634
  • 9780062225634
  • 315,909

Review quote

"Plum keeps tension high as she follows Juneau across the country, mixing in enough romantic spice to satisfy genre fans." -- Kirkus Reviews "A satisfying conclusion." -- ALA Booklist "There is not a dull page to be found, as action, adventure and romance abound. This heart-pounding book will take you on a journey that you will never want to end." -- Romantic Times PRAISE FOR AFTER THE END:"Wonderfully riveting. A fascinating twist on the apocalypse, and a reminder that things aren't always as they seem." -- Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend series "Exciting and tense! Prepare for the unexpected! You'll stay up all night with this one!" -- Sophie Jordan, New York Times bestselling author of the Firelight series and Uninvited "Amy Plum creates a chilling world where the stakes are high and no one can be trusted. After the End will leave you breathless!" -- Kimberly Derting, author of the Body Finder series "Misunderstandings and betrayals abound as Juneau and Miles set off on a road trip through the West, coming to appreciate each other in a slow-moving, believable romance." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "This fast-paced adventure novel pulses with magic, romance, and one humdinger of a cliff-hanger." -- ALA Booklist "The fast-paced plot, rife with mystery, successfully moves the story forward. Fans of post-apocalyptic fiction will enjoy this unusual not-quite-dystopian novel with a dose of corporate espionage. And the cliff-hanger ending will leave them eager for future installments." -- School Library Journal "Attractive characters and the fresh, present-day setting should hook genre fans." -- Kirkus Reviews PRAISE FOR THE DIE FOR ME SERIES "I devoured this lush, mysterious romance, which delivers a refreshingly human heroine alongside a hero truly deserving of the title." -- Aprilynne Pike, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Wings series "Move over, Bella and Edward. Plum introduces a world and a story that are sure to intrigue teen readers and will easily attract fans of the Twilight series." -- ALA Booklist on Die for Me "The lush Parisian setting and gorgeous characters make this an immersing, franchise-ready story." -- Publishers Weekly "Plum's debut is the perfect combo of romance and thrills, with heart-pumping action that will make you jump and love that will make you cry out for joy. You'll hang on every word." -- Romantic Times "A fast-moving tale of star-crossed lovers." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "Plum handles the intrigue and builds tension, ending with a major cliffhanger that should compel readers to the final book in the trilogy." -- Kirkus Reviews on Until I Die "The historical elements and the magic evoked by the Parisian setting work to paint a full landscape that has a deep otherworldly connection while remaining entirely ordinary in the very best way. The story's twists and turns are well paced and will have readers captivated." -- School Library Journal on Until I Die "A swashbuckling final episode with plot twists and unexpected revelations." -- ALA Booklist on If I Should Die "Plenty of well-paced tension. The author keeps the narrative moving along at a sprightly pace and handles the suspense well." -- Kirkus Reviews on If I Should Die "This last book does not disappoint. Amy Plum is to be congratulated for her creation of the Revenants. It is a fresh and original mythology. It will be interesting to see what Amy Plum will come up with next." -- New York Journal of Books on If I Should Die
show more

Back cover copy

"I have had a powerful weapon at my fingertips my whole life, but I'm finally learning to wield it. I feel unstoppable."

When Juneau's clan disappeared, she lost more than her friends and family; she lost her entire world. She discovered her life was a lie--her people weren't living in the wilderness because they were the sole survivors of a nuclear war. They were in hiding, hoping no one would find them and learn their secret: they never get sick, they hardly age, and they have the power to communicate with nature.

Juneau is closer than ever to finding them, and she couldn't have gotten this far without Miles. Although he originally pursued her with the goal of turning her over to his father, he has become her greatest ally. Even as an outsider, Miles has helped Juneau realize she is far more powerful than she'd ever believed.

But now the same people who took Juneau's clan are after her too. Somehow she is the key to unlocking the mystery of her people's gifts. To rescue her clan and protect their secrets, Juneau must push past the boundaries of what she was taught, to discover what she is truly capable of.
show more

About Amy Plum

Amy Plum is the international bestselling author of After the End and the Die for Me series. She spent her childhood in Birmingham, Alabama, her twenties in Chicago and Paris, and several more years in London, New York, and the Loire Valley. Now she lives in Paris and swears she'll never move again.
show more

Rating details

2,788 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 23% (632)
4 36% (1,011)
3 32% (885)
2 8% (216)
1 2% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X