Unpregnant
8%
off

Unpregnant

3.78 (3,723 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

NOW A MOVIE STREAMING ON HBO MAX, STARRING HALEY LU RICHARDSON AS VERONICA AND BARBIE FERREIRA AS BAILEY!

Perfect for fans of Juno and Jennifer E. Smith, Unpregnant is a heartfelt and hysterically funny YA debut about fierce friendship, reproductive rights, and the wild road to adulthood.

"Hilarious. A remarkable debut." --Stephen Chbosky, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower

"A buddy road trip novel so funny, touching, and surprising, readers will forget it's also important. Honest and relatable!" --Alex Flinn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of BeastlySeventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she'd want to fail a test--that is, until she finds herself staring at a piece of plastic with two solid pink lines. With a college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she'd have to make: an abortion.There's just one catch--the closest place to get one is over nine hundred miles away. With conservative parents, a less-than-optimal boyfriend, and no car, Veronica turns to the only person who won't judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High--and Veronica's ex-best friend.

What could go wrong? Not much, apart from three days of stolen cars, crazed ex-boyfriends, aliens, ferret napping, and the betrayal of a broken friendship that can't be outrun. Under the starlit skies of the Southwest, Veronica and Bailey discover that sometimes the most important choice is who your friends are.

This breakout novel is from authors Jenni Hendriks (writer for How I Met Your Mother) and Ted Caplan (music editor for The Hate U Give).

TIME CALLS THE UNPREGNANT MOVIE A SPIRITED COMEDY ABOUT A WOMAN'S RIGHT TO CHOOSE.

"A stellar, timely debut." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Timely, hilarious, and heartfelt." --Kirkus (starred review)

A Top Ten YALSA 2020 Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers!
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 150 x 216 x 25mm | 408g
  • English
  • 0062876244
  • 9780062876249
  • 823,841

Back cover copy

Seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she'd find herself holding a thick piece of plastic and staring at two solid pink lines. How her boyfriend managed to get her pregnant, even with the most consistent use of condoms, is a mystery--but with a promising college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she'd have to make: an abortion.

There's just one catch--the closest place to legally get one is over nine hundred miles away in New Mexico, and Veronica doesn't have a car. Desperate, she turns to the only person she believes won't judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High--and Veronica's ex-best friend.

The plan is straightforward: a fourteen-hour drive to the clinic, three hours for the appointment, and a fourteen-hour drive home. What could go wrong? Not much, apart from three days of stolen cars, shotguns, crazed ex-boyfriends, kind-hearted truck stop strippers, ferretnapping, aliens, and the pain and betrayal of a broken friendship that can't be outrun. Soon, Veronica must risk everything to repair the hurt she's caused. Under the vast starlit skies of the American Southwest, Veronica and Bailey discover the road to adulthood isn't easy--but it's better with a friend by your side.
show more

Review quote

Timely, hilarious, and heartfelt.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
show more

Rating details

3,723 ratings
3.78 out of 5 stars
5 26% (979)
4 38% (1,431)
3 25% (944)
2 8% (281)
1 2% (88)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X