The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club
29%
off

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club : Lord Peter Wimsey Book 4

4.05 (10,916 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The fifth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by detective fiction writer Simon Brett - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries.

'D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers' Daily Telegraph

Lord Peter Wimsey bent down over General Fentiman and drew the Morning Post gently away from the gnarled old hands. Then, with a quick jerk, he lifted the quiet figure. It came up all of a piece, stiff as a wooden doll . . .

But how did the general die? Who was the mysterious Mr X who fled when he was wanted for questioning? And which of the general's heirs, both members of the Bellona Club, is lying?

'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 131 x 199 x 19mm | 198g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473621313
  • 9781473621312
  • 57,143

Review quote

I admire her novels . . . she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail - Ruth Rendell

D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers. - Daily Telegraph

She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller. - Minette Walters
show more

About Dorothy L. Sayers

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

www.sayers.org.uk
show more

Rating details

10,916 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 34% (3,679)
4 41% (4,525)
3 22% (2,431)
2 2% (229)
1 0% (52)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X