Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
27%
off

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

3.66 (15,645 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape. The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting memoir, Deborah Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious tradition that values silence and suffering over individual freedoms. Deborah grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 162.56 x 238.76 x 27.94mm | 453.59g
  • SIMON & SCHUSTER
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • black & white halftones
  • 1439187002
  • 9781439187005
  • 79,002

Review quote

"Feldman gives us special insight into a closed and repressive world. . . . Her memoir is fresh and tart and utterly absorbing."--Library Journalshow more

About Feldman

Deborah Feldman was raised in the Hasidic community of Satmar in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, New York. She attends Sarah Lawrence College and lives in New York City with her son.show more

Rating details

15,645 ratings
3.66 out of 5 stars
5 21% (3,340)
4 37% (5,866)
3 30% (4,676)
2 9% (1,335)
1 3% (428)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X