Unorthodox
19%
off

Unorthodox : The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

3.86 (28,652 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Now a Netflix original series! Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author. As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path--for herself and her son--to happiness and freedom. Remarkable and fascinating, this "sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story" (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won't be able to put down.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 139.7 x 210.82 x 17.78mm | 226.8g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 12 bw photos
  • 1439187010
  • 9781439187012
  • 9,231

Review Text

"A brave, riveting account... Unorthodox is harrowing, yet triumphant."
- Jeannette Walls, New York Times bestselling author of The Glass Castle
show more

Review quote

"Eloquent, appealing, and just emotional enough... No doubt girls all over Brooklyn are buying this book, hiding it under their mattresses, reading it after lights out--and contemplating, perhaps for the first time, their own escape."
-- The Huffington Post
show more

About Deborah Feldman

Feldman, Deborah
Deborah Feldman was raised in the Satmar Hasidic community in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, New York. She lives in Berlin with her son.
show more

Rating details

28,652 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 28% (8,089)
4 40% (11,338)
3 25% (7,069)
2 6% (1,634)
1 2% (522)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X