The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V
20%
off

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V : The Unmapped Sea

4.19 (1,508 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be a father, but with a little Ashton on the way, he's sure about one thing: the wolfish curse on his family must end soon, before the child is born. Penelope willingly takes on the challenge; when Lady Constance's doctor prescribes a seaside holiday, Penelope jumps at the chance to take the three Incorrigible children to Brighton, where she hopes to persuade the old sailor Pudge to reveal what he knows about the Ashton curse.But the Ashtons are not the only ones at the beach in January. The passionately temperamental Babushkinov family is also taking the winter waters.The Incorrigible children may have been raised by wolves, but the Babushkinov children are the wildest creatures they've ever seen. Is it more than mere coincidence that these untamed children have turned up in Brighton just as Penelope and the Incorrigibles arrive?
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 130 x 194 x 21mm | 268g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Balzer and Bray
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 006211042X
  • 9780062110428
  • 104,772

Review quote

With a Snicketesque affect, Wood s narrative propels the drama pervasive humor and unanswered questions should have readers begging for more.--Publishers Weekly (starred review) It s the best beginning since The Bad Beginning (1999) [by Lemony Snicket] and will leave readers howling for the next episode.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Jane Eyre meets Lemony Snicket in this smart, surprising satire. Humorous antics and a climactic cliff-hanger ending will keep children turning pages and clamoring for the next volume, while more sophisticated readers will take away much more. Frequent plate-sized illustrations add wit and period flair.--School Library Journal (starred review) How hearty and delicious...Smartly written with a middle-grade audience in mind, this is both fun and funny and sprinkled with dollops of wisdom (thank you, Agatha Swanburne). How will it all turn out? Appetites whetted. --Booklist (starred review) "How hearty and delicious...Smartly written with a middle-grade audience in mind, this is both fun and funny and sprinkled with dollops of wisdom (thank you, Agatha Swanburne). How will it all turn out? Appetites whetted."--Booklist (starred review) With a Snicketesque affect, Wood's narrative propels the drama...pervasive humor and unanswered questions should have readers begging for more.--Publishers Weekly (starred review) Every newspaper and website in America is going to tell you that The Mysterious Howling will leave you HOWLING FOR MORE! So I'm not going to say that. But it's really good.--Adam Rex, author of The True Meaning of Smekday It's the best beginning since The Bad Beginning (1999) [by Lemony Snicket] and will leave readers howling for the next episode.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
show more

About Maryrose Wood

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions. Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.
show more

Rating details

1,508 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 38% (576)
4 45% (674)
3 16% (234)
2 1% (21)
1 0% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X