University of Texas Publication Volume 53

University of Texas Publication Volume 53

By (author) 

List price: US$10.22

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This historic book may have numerous typos and missing text. Purchasers can usually download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. Not indexed. Not illustrated. 1916 edition. Excerpt: ...of Wood; 8. Ned Morris, of Henderson; 9. Bryan Drew, of Kaufman; 10. T. S. Smith, of Hill; 11. O. L. Stribling, of McLennan; 12. A. G. Board, of Brazos; 13. S. A. McMeans, of Anderson; 14., blank; 15. L. T. Dashicll, of Leon; 16. J. S. Dougherty, of Harris; 17. James McDonald, of Galveston; 18. J. S. Ledbetter, of Fayette; 19. blank; 20. Norton Moses, of Burnet; 21. A.' A. Thomas, of Hays; 22, and 23. blank; 24.-. M. C. Harris, of Bexar; 25. Juan S. Hart, of El Paso; 26. T. H. Strong, of Coleman; 27. Winbourn Pierce, of Bell; 28. O. T. Maxwell, of Eastland; 29. S. P. Huif, of Wilbarger; 30. J. W. Swayne, of Tarrant; 31. Sam G. Tankersly, of Wise. "REGULAR" REPUBLICAN STATE CONVENTION, 1896 AUSTIN, March 24-26 'I The efforts of the managers of the several candidates for the presidential nomination to line up the largest number of delegates resulted in many contests. Much depended upon the action of the credentials committee. Apparently the McKinley supporters were in the majority, but a combination of the Allison and Reed men, under the leadership of N. W. Cuney, captured the temporary organization of the convention. The attendance was very large. Rumors that there would be a split preceded the assembling of the convention. Ofiicers: Chairman, N. W. Cuney, of Galveston. Secretary, D. C. Kolp, of Wichita. The temporary oflicers were made permanent. Delegates to the National Convention: State at large, N. W. Cuney, W. M. Makemson, E. H. Terrell, H. C. Ferguson. Presidential Electors: State at large, G. G. Clifford, of Bexar, Eugene Marshall, of Dallas. Committee on Platform and Resolutions: 1st Congressional district, B. Ripsdorph, 2. P. J. Dennis, 3. Webster Flanagan, 4. C. M. Ferguson, 5. R. M. McConnell, 6. J. M....
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 286 pages
  • 189 x 246 x 15mm | 513g
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1236784286
  • 9781236784285