The Unforgetting

The Unforgetting

4 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

A spellbinding story of obsession, the lure of fame, and the power of illusion, perfect for fans of The Binding

Her fate was decided. Her death was foretold. Her past is about to be unforgotten...1851. When Lily Bell is sold by her father to a 'Professor of Ghosts' to settle a bad debt, she dreams of finding fame on the London stage. But Erasmus Salt wants Lilly not as an actress, but as his very own ghost - the heart of his elaborate illusion for those desperate for a glimpse of the spirit world . . .

Obsessed with perfection, Erasmus goes to extreme lengths to ensure his illusion is realistic. When Lily comes across her own obituary in the paper, and then her headstones in the cemetery, she realises that she is trapped, her own parents think she is dead, and that her fate is soon to become even darker . . .

***

Readers are entranced by The Unforgetting . . .

'This haunting Victorian novel weaves a spellbinding web of deluded dreams and dark deceptions' Essie Fox

'Evocative and atmospheric, The Unforgetting is a macabre tale of dark obsessions and deadly ambitions, where nothing is quite what it seems' Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones

'This Victorian gothic fantasy . . . drips with menace' Daily Mail

'A sinister, fast-paced gothic tale' Caitlin Davies, author of Daisy Belle

'This is dark, gothic historical fiction at its best. A tale of obsession, control, illusion and mystery in the Victorian era. Beautifully written, chilling and haunting' The Bookwormery

'This is a book of magic, of women's strength, of the power of love . . . a splendid and brilliantly paced novel' Northern Reader Blog

'A story of obsession and haunting illusions that will leave the reader chilled to the bone . . . this book entraps you [and] bewitches you' Bunny's Pause Blog

'From the very first pages, Black's novel grabs our attention, drawing us into a beautifully evoked, sensory world . . . highly recommended' The Literary Shed
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 144 x 222 x 34mm | 480g
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1409190617
  • 9781409190615
  • 10,927

Review quote

A lively, pacey read. * The Times * A chilling, atmospheric page-turner. * My Weekly * Lose yourself in this atmospheric tale. * Best * Deliciously haunting Gothic fiction * i newspaper * This Victorian gothic fantasy offers . . . an atmosphere that drips with menace * Daily Mail * A feast of Victorian gothic is served with relish in this dark tale * The People *
show more

About Rose Black

Rose Black has written stories all her life. Her long-standing fascination with the Victorians and 19th century England underlies this novel. An award-winning freelance writer, she's covered health, overseas development and education. Married, with two children, she lives partly in London and at other times by the sea. In her spare time, she enjoys wild swimming and growing food and flowers on her allotment.
show more

Rating details

1 rating
4 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 100% (1)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X