The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra : Baby Ganesh Agency Book 1

3.76 (2,799 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 6 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Harold Fry. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries.The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved.And the second is a baby elephant.As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought.And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 137 x 216 x 24mm | 332g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Mulholland Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473612276
  • 9781473612273
  • 863,084

Review quote

Keeps things heart-warming while tackling corruption at the highest levels and violent crime at the lowest. Endearing and gripping, it sets up Inspector Chopra - and the elephant - for a long series. Sunday Times Enchanting Woman & Home Chopra, diligent, incorruptible and not entirely at ease with shiny new India, is a delight, as is his redoubtable wife, Poppy - and Ganesha the elephant, once he has cheered up a bit, proves a very useful ally indeed. Utterly charming Guardian Delightful and uplifting The Bookseller A cast of intriguing characters that it will be a joy to see develop. But the greatest strength is the setting in the teeming city of Mumbai, from which the colour and atmosphere flows out of every page in this enjoyable, whimsical tale Daily Express A sparkling debut with a zippy plot and an endearing set of characters The Lady A quirky murder mystery... full of colourful characters and insightful details about human motivation Irish Examinershow more

About Vaseem Khan

Vaseem Khan first saw an elephant lumbering down the middle of the road in 1997 when he arrived in India to work as a management consultant. It was the most unusual thing he had ever encountered and served as the inspiration behind his series of crime novels. He returned to the UK in 2006 and now works at University College London for the Department of Security and Crime Science where he is astonished on a daily basis by the way modern science is being employed to tackle crime. Elephants are third on his list of passions, first and second being great literature and cricket, not always in that order.show more

Review Text

Keeps things heart-warming while tackling corruption at the highest levels and violent crime at the lowest. Endearing and gripping, it sets up Inspector Chopra - and the elephant - for a long series. Sunday Timesshow more

Rating details

2,799 ratings
3.76 out of 5 stars
5 21% (592)
4 42% (1,188)
3 30% (837)
2 5% (145)
1 1% (37)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X