The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

4.24 (5,901 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.24 (5,901 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

'Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I've read before' Lana Harper, author of Payback's a Witch

The Princess Bride meets You've Got Mail in this enchantingly quirky, completely refreshing fantasy with a rom-com-worthy premise, perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea.

Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the magical wilds of Tanria. It's an unforgiving job, and he's got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.

Mercy never has a moment to herself. She's been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart-ache Hart, the man with a knack for showing up right when her patience is thinnest.

After yet another run-in with Merciless Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to "A Friend". Much to his surprise, he receives an anonymous reply, and a tentative friendship is born. Little does Hart know he's baring his soul to the person who infuriates him most. . .

Set in a world equally full of magic and demigods as it is donuts and small-town drama, this utterly unique fantasy is sure to sweep you off your feet.

Praise for The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy:

'The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy broke my heart, put it back together, then tucked me into bed with a forehead kiss. Packed with earnest characters, wit, action, and reluctant yearning, this is easily my favourite fantasy romance of the year' Jen DeLuca, author of Well Met

'A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over' Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient

'Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix!' Sierra Simone

'An unabashedly offbeat adventure' Freya Marske, author of A Marvellous Light

'A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty' Olivia Atwater, author of Half a Soul

'Megan Bannen broke me, made me laugh, then put me back together again. . . The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is one of those books you'll be thinking about long after you've read the last page' Manda Collins

'A truly outstanding romantic fantasy' India Holton, author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

'A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish!' Davinia Evans, author of Notorious Sorcerer

'I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading' Ruby Dixon, author of Ice Planet Barbarians

'Megan Bannen has found her voice with this incredibly smart, and hilariously weird debut. A must read' Nisha Sharma, author of Dating Dr. Dil

'Warm, compassionate and compelling' Vivian Shaw, author of Strange Practice
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 32mm | 300g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356518663
  • 9780356518664
  • 88,212

Review Text

Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix!
show more

Review quote

A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty -- Olivia Atwater, author of HALF A SOUL This book is a gooey (and hot!) romance immersed in a tasty layer of quirky fantasy, like some decadent chocolate treat. A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish! I delighted in every lived-in detail of the vibrant world, and relaxed into Bannon's confident wielding of romance beats that made me laugh, cry and exult in true victory. She played my emotions like a harp, and it was beautiful -- Davinia Evans, author of NOTORIOUS SORCERER With its wonderfully unique setting, lovable characters, and engaging mix of humour and spice, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a truly outstanding romantic fantasy. I loved both its kookiness and its deep authenticity. An instant favourite! -- India Holton, author of THE WISTERIA SOCIETY OF LADY SCOUNDRELS A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over. If you ever wished for an adult romance that felt like Howl's Moving Castle, THIS IS THAT BOOK -- Helen Hoang, author of THE KISS QUOTIENT Perfect for readers who love enemies-to-lovers mashed up with a touch of secret penpal romance. I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading -- Ruby Dixon, author of ICE PLANET BARBARIANS If Lewis Carroll and Nora Ephron teamed up to write a magical Western, this would be the result. An unabashedly offbeat adventure full of dead gods and mostly-dead zombies, family drama, swoon-worthy love letters, and a Very Good Dog, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy oozes romantic fun like a corpse oozes dubious fluids. -- Freya Marske, author of A MARVELLOUS LIGHT Warm, compassionate and compelling -- Vivian Shaw, author of STRANGE PRACTICE Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix! -- Sierra Simone The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy broke my heart, put it back together, then tucked me into bed with a forehead kiss. Packed with earnest characters, wit, action, and reluctant yearning, this is easily my favourite fantasy romance of the year -- Jen DeLuca, author of WELL MET Megan Bannen broke me, made me laugh, then put me back together again. . . The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is one of those books you'll be thinking about long after you've read the last page -- Manda Collins Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I've read before. . . an absolutely stunning story -- Lana Harper, author of PAYBACK'S A WITCH Megan Bannen has found her voice with this incredibly smart, and hilariously weird debut. A must read -- Nisha Sharma, author of DATING DR. DIL
show more

About Megan Bannen

Megan Bannen is a former librarian and a full-time writer. While most of her professional career has been spent behind the reference desk, she has also sold luggage, written grants, collected a few graduate degrees from various Kansas state universities, and taught English at home and abroad. She lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, two sons, and a lot of pets.
show more

Rating details

5,901 ratings
4.24 out of 5 stars
5 45% (2,673)
4 37% (2,208)
3 14% (808)
2 3% (172)
1 1% (40)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X