Under Fortunate Stars
14%
off

Under Fortunate Stars

4.03 (699 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.03 (699 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 5-8 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Two Ships. One Chance To Save The Future.

Fleeing the final days of the generations-long war with the alien Felen, smuggler Jereth Keeven's freighter the Jonah breaks down in a strange rift in deep space, with little chance of rescue-until they encounter the research vessel Gallion, which claims to be from 152 years in the future.

The Gallion's chief engineer Uma Ozakka has always been fascinated with the past, especially the tale of the Fortunate Five, who ended the war with the Felen. When the Gallion rescues a run-down junk freighter, Ozakka is shocked to recognize the Five's legendary ship-and the Five's famed leader, Eldric Leesongronski, among the crew.

But nothing else about Leesongronski and his crewmates seems to match up with the historical record. With their ships running out of power in the rift, more than the lives of both crews may be at stake...
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 480 pages
  • 138 x 222 x 38mm | 587g
  • SOLARIS
  • Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 178618592X
  • 9781786185921
  • 41,341

Review quote

"In Under Fortunate Stars, Ren Hutchings has written a space opera that is close and personal in its conflicts and, at the same time, wide-reaching in its scope. This is destined to be one of the breakout science fiction novels of 2022." -- Michael Mammay, Author of the Planetside series "Under Fortunate Stars is an immensely fun space opera adventure, chock full of surprises and wonderful characters, laced through with humor and heart. Fans of Becky Chambers and Valerie Valdes will love this." -- John Appel "Under Fortunate Stars combines a richly drawn world, complicated characters, and a time-travel plot that unwinds forward and backward, with stakes both massive and intensely personal." -- K. Eason, author of Nightwatch on the Hinterlands "Questions of fate, predetermination and stepping into history are cleverly wrapped in an engrossing time travel tale." -- Paul Simpson, Sci-Fi Bulletin "Under Fortunate Stars takes familiar themes of time travel, interspecies conflict, and ensemble crews to spin a wholly original and compulsively readable story. Ren Hutchings' first novel is exciting, funny, truthful - and a thoughtful account of the necessity of trusting both ourselves and strangers to secure our future and live in peace." -- Una McCormack "Under Fortunate Stars is a perfect novel featuring my favorite time-travel paradox. Ren Hutchings weaves together a tapestry of past and present with a deft hand in this tender space opera about two crews doing everything they can to build peace out of the ashes of war. This is an absolute must-read for anyone needing a little hope." -- K.B. Wagers, author of Hold Fast Through the Fire "A fun, puzzle box of a mystery!" -- Megan E. O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon "If the Guardians of the Galaxy crashed the Foundation... A twisty, enthralling space-time opera. Fortunate readers, and a future star." -- Stephen Baxter "One of the best books I've read this year." -- Gareth L. Powell "Boasting a heart full of hope, captivating characters you can't help but root for, and a breathless, high-octane mystery, Under Fortunate Stars is the kind of space opera we need right now." -- Karen Osborne "Rifts in time and space, humour and a cast of compelling characters. An electrifying mix of wild ideas, vivid far futures and good fun." -- Eeleen Lee "An engrossing mystery gene-spliced with a thrilling sci-fi adventure, Under Fortunate Stars feels like a newly unearthed classic that's miraculously stood the test of time. Driven by a cast of complex characters who deepen with every new layer of the mystery revealed, it builds to a thrilling, head-spinning climax. Reading it is like being sucked into a mysterious time rift, and you'll love every lost moment." -- SJ Whitby, author of the Cute Mutants series "Smart, slick, and mind-blowingly twisty, Under Fortunate Stars pits a memorable ensemble cast against impossible odds: fragile timelines, fifth-dimension science, and explosive politics. Woven with crackling wit, this is an unmissable debut." -- Claire Winn, author of City of Shattered Light "Hutchings lovingly fuses a sprawling cast of charmingly flawed characters and a plot with many moving parts into a smooth and satisfying whole." -- Publishers Weekly "An engaging space saga with time-travel twists, and a compelling look at how past and future are created by not only by those who live it but those who record it." -- Library Journal (Starred Review) * Library Journal * "An engrossing interstellar escapade with appeal for fans of Becky Chambers, Alex White, and S.K. Dunstall." -- Booklist * Booklist * Library Journal Debut of the Month * Library Journal * "An entertaining, engrossing read." -- Buzzfeed * Buzzfeed * 'A deeply human book' -- Locus * Locus * "Ren Hutchings has earned comparisons to Becky Chambers, Alex White, and S.K. Dunstall" -- Den of Geek * Den of Geek *
show more

About Ren Hutchings

Ren Hutchings is a speculative fiction writer, writing mentor, and history grad. She spent most of the past decade working in game dev while also plotting twisty space novels. She loves pop science, unexplained mysteries, 90s music, collecting outdated electronics, and pondering about alternate universes. Ren always drafts out of order, and almost everything she writes ends up involving a dash of time travel. You can find Ren online at renhutchings.com, and on social media as @voidcricket.
show more

Rating details

699 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 33% (234)
4 42% (297)
3 19% (130)
2 4% (30)
1 1% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X