Under Ground
31%
off

Under Ground

3.25 (324 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

THEY THOUGHT THEY WERE SAFE ...The Sanctum is a luxurious, self-sustaining survival condominium situated underground. It's a plush bolt-hole for the rich and paranoid - a place where they can wait out the apocalypse in style. When a devastating super-flu virus hits, several families race to reach The Sanctum. All have their own motivations for entering. All are hiding secrets. But when the door locks and someone dies, they realize the greatest threat to their survival may not be above ground - it may already be inside ...Under Ground is a page-turning locked-room mystery from the combined talents of Sarah Lotz and Louis Greenberg, writing as S. L. Grey. It is perfect for fans of Under the Dome by Stephen King and films such as The Hole and The Descent (with a pinch of And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie).show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 22mm | 260g
  • Pan MacMillan
  • Pan Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed.
  • 1447266455
  • 9781447266457
  • 480,443

About S. L. Grey

S. L. Grey is a collaboration between Sarah Lotz and Louis Greenberg. Sarah is a novelist and screenwriter and die-hard zombie fanatic. She writes crime novels and thrillers under her own name, and as Lily Herne she and her daughter Savannah Lotz write the Deadlands series of zombie novels for young adults. Louis is a Johannesburg-based fiction writer and editor. He was a bookseller for several years, and has a Master's degree in vampire fiction and a doctorate on post-religious apocalyptic fiction.show more

Review quote

It'sJG Ballard meets Agatha Christie, with a soupcon of Patricia Highsmith thrown in. Grey rotates the viewpoint through the eyes of five very different characters, ramps up the tension to an almost unbearable level, and ends with a stunning double finale. GUARDIAN Under Ground shifts from slow-burn chills to its frantic finale with considerable expertise. A gripping book - and definitely not for the claustrophobic. SFX Under Ground is well paced and it certainly has the potential to become a classic thriller ... It's full of well-developed characters, captivating twists and an unpredictable conclusion that will have any thriller fan guessing all the way through. A thoroughly enjoyable read Starburst Atmospheric, readable and all too plausible. Under Ground is a grim, effective chiller that takes you to the edge and leaves you there SciFiNow A complex survival murder mystery ... A gripping and unpredictable thriller with many twists and turns. Shropshire Review Grey does a great job of sustaining that singularly unsettling sense that something awful is going to go wrong-and I dare say something is always going to go awfully wrong in The Sanctum ... Under Ground is a brilliant jumping-on point for horror fans who haven't already gone Grey Tor.com Underground is essentially what would happen if Stephen King woke up one morning as Agatha Christie Fantasy-faction.com Under Ground is a taught, tight and claustrophobic novel that uses its small cast of characters and the confined and limited narrative settings to great effect ...It will grab your attention from the first chapter and have you hooked right up to the perfect ending Gingernutsofhorror.com A fast-paced, slow-burn thriller ... this is a gripping, briskly-paced novel of psychological suspense and the fragility of social norms. Grey's prose is superb, stripped down and briskly-paced, it keeps the novel moving forward Civilianreader.wordpress.com This book kept me on the edge of my seat, to the very end Jeanzbookreadnreview.blogspot.co.uk Absorbing reading Grabthisbook.netshow more

Review Text

It'sJG Ballard meets Agatha Christie, with a soupcon of Patricia Highsmith thrown in. Grey rotates the viewpoint through the eyes of five very different characters, ramps up the tension to an almost unbearable level, and ends with a stunning double finale. GUARDIANshow more

Rating details

324 ratings
3.25 out of 5 stars
5 10% (34)
4 31% (102)
3 36% (117)
2 17% (54)
1 5% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X