The Unadjusteds

The Unadjusteds : The Unadjusteds Book 1

4.1 (145 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-15 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

If you could alter your DNA with one pill...would you?



When the president declares all unadjusteds must take a nanite, sixteen year old Silver Melody has no choice but to flee the city. She has no genetic enhancements. She is 100% human, and wants to stay that way.



Escaping with her family and friends, Silver plans to hide out and deal with an awkward love triangle while her scientist father makes a cure. But she doesn't count on her father being captured, on the president setting an immortal army and hellhounds on her tail, or dealing with her crippling anxiety.



Her only chance to recover her father involves teaming up with a new group of unlikely friends and rescuing him before the unadjusteds are wiped out.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 306 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 21mm | 603g
  • English
  • 2nd ed.
  • 1948115042
  • 9781948115049

Review quote

"A pacy dystopia that romps along - speculative fiction at its most moreish! I love books exploring questions like this...what does playing god mean? And what's it like when you're the odd one out in the world? Perfect for 12+. Loved the mental health angle too, sensitively handled." - Louie Stowell (Author).




"I loved this book. Great characters and an absolutely brilliant concept! This will appeal to anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games / Twilight. The writing was fantastic and the pace was perfect throughout - I was gripped from the first page. The characters were well drawn and I cannot wait to see what happens to them next! I could easily see this being picked up for a film option." - Catherine Emmett (Author)




"As soon as I read the synopsis for this book I was dying to know more. The concept really intrigued me - a world where the majority of the population have altered their DNA? It was such a fascinating idea. When I picked up the book I completely fell in love with this world and these characters, a unique and engaging tale, one that is perfect for fans of Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games and Emily Suvada's This Mortal Coil." - The Bibliophile Chronicles (Blogger)




"Silver's first-person voice immediately draws the reader in and her appealing personality easily carries us through. It helps that we're given such an incredible plot hook to pull us into the story. (A visceral description as Silver stands in a school corridor and watches a boy die from taking a nanite pill). This sets the tone for the rest of the book which maintains the pace of a thriller without at any time sacrificing the exceptional character development. Silver is supported by an eclectic collection of characters, including unadjusteds and altered. It's testament to the skill of the author, Marisa Noelle, that I was able to so easily assimilate and track such a large cast. I particularly enjoyed the love triangle between Silver, Matt and Joe and appreciated the fact that, unlike so many similar stories, this was firmly resolved by the end of the book." - Madge Eekal Reviews (Blogger)




"I blinkin' loved it!" - Amazon Reader.




"Though I was a little heartbroken at the end, I just wanted more. Please tell me there's a sequel and I can return to the technicoloured and dangerous world of The Unadjusteds." - Noelle Kelly (Book Reviewer)




"The characters are excellent and imaginative!" - GoodReads reviewer "It gave me moments of shock and out-loud gasping." - Amazon reviewer




"The Unadjusteds was a well-written, intense and emotional story that kept my attention from start to finish." - Book blogger "I devoured this book!"




"It reminded me of YA heavyweights like The Hunger Games and Divergent. It would make a superb film!" - Book reviewer.
show more

Rating details

145 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 42% (61)
4 34% (49)
3 18% (26)
2 5% (7)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X