Ugo Rondinone: Limited-Edition Five-Volume Box Set

Ugo Rondinone: Limited-Edition Five-Volume Box Set

List price: US$175.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This specially designed box contains a series of five books conceived by the New York-based Swiss artist Ugo Rondinone (born 1964), published over two years to accompany a cycle of exhibitions devoted to works inspired by the color spectrum, with the centerpiece being Vocabulary of Solitude--45 life-size sculptures of clowns.
With their different postures, the clowns represent activities of everyday life, at the same time expressing the anguish of human solitude: be, breathe, sleep, dream, wake, rise, sit, hear, look, think, stand, walk, pee, shower, dress, drink, fart, shit, read, laugh, cook, smell, taste, eat, clean, write, daydream, remember, cry, nap, touch, feel, moan, enjoy, float, love, hope, wish, sing, dance, fall, curse, yawn, undress, lie.
In the presentations in Miami, Rotterdam, Rome, Cincinnati and Berkeley, the mannequins' apparent isolation and introspection triggered extreme audience interaction and engagement. The edition is signed by the artist and published in an edition of 100.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 408 pages
  • 249 x 320 x 51mm | 3,084g
  • English
  • Limited
  • 8867493361
  • 9788867493364