Salt to the Sea
23%
off

Salt to the Sea

4.36 (38,533 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Designed by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed. This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 24mm | 277g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • PUFFIN
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141347406
  • 9780141347400
  • 746

Review quote

Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea, the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies. -- Elizabeth Wein A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history. -- Steve Sheinkinshow more

About Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys is the author of acclaimed YA novel, Between Shades of Grey. Born and raised in Michigan in a family of Lithuanian descent, Ruta now lives with her husband in Tennessee. Ruta was a highly successful promoter of classical music concerts, booking and touring with orchestras worldwide, before turning to writing full-time. In 2015 Ruta has been awarded The Rockefeller Foundation's prestigious Bellagio Center writing residency, where she will interact with other leading international artists, writers and thinkers.show more

Review Text

Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. Elizabeth Weinshow more

Rating details

38,533 ratings
4.36 out of 5 stars
5 52% (19,916)
4 36% (14,012)
3 10% (3,710)
2 2% (621)
1 1% (274)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X