Two for Sorrow

Two for Sorrow

3.59 (1,409 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

"A new and assured talent....Nicola Upson is to be congratulated."
--P.D. James

Author Nicola Upson brings legendary mystery writer Josephine Tey back for a third investigation in Two for Sorrow, the spellbinding follow-up to An Expert in Murder and Angel with Two Faces. Fans of P.D. James, Agatha Christie, and Jacqueline Winspear will relish this ingenious literary creation, as one of the most beloved mystery writers of the twentieth century, while doing research for a new novel based on a horrific case of multiple child murder in 1903 London, is drawn into a chillingly related hunt for a sadistic, present-day killer.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 496 pages
  • 135 x 201 x 25mm | 408g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0061451584
  • 9780061451584
  • 722,747

Back cover copy

They were the most horrific crimes of a new century: the murders of newborn innocents for which two British women were hanged at Holloway Prison in1903. Decades later, mystery writer Josephine Tey has decided to write a novel based on Amelia Sach and Annie Walters, the notorious "Finchley baby farmers," unaware that her research will entangle her in the desperate hunt for a modern-day killer.

A young seamstress--an ex-convict determined to reform--has been found brutally slain in the studio of Tey's friends, the Motley sisters, amid preparations for a star-studded charity gala. Despite initial appearances, Inspector Archie Penrose is not convinced this murder is the result of a long-standing domestic feud--and a horrific accident involving a second young woman soon after supports his convictions. Now he and his friend Josephine must unmask a sadistic killer before more blood flows--as the repercussions of unthinkable crimes of the past reach out to destroy those left behind long after justice has been served.
show more

Review quote

"Excellent. . . . Upson upsets readers' expectations with a surprise that keeps the suspense high to the satisfying conclusion. Puzzle fans as well as admirers of psychologically rich crime authors such as Ruth Rendell will find a lot to savor."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

Rating details

1,409 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 19% (265)
4 36% (508)
3 33% (470)
2 9% (125)
1 3% (41)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X