The Twistrose Key

The Twistrose Key

3.8 (2,018 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

List price: US$8.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A captivating adventure story for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass. Something is wrong in the house Lin's family rented. The clocks tick too slowly. Frost covers the flowerbed, even in a rain storm. And when a secret key marked "Twistrose" arrives for her, Lin finds in a crack in the cellar and unlocks a gate to the world of Sylver. This frozen realm is the home of every dead animal who ever loved a child. Lin is overjoyed to be reunited with Rufus, the pet she buried under the rosebush. But together they must find the missing Winter Prince in order to save Sylver from destruction...and they're not the only ones hunting for the Prince.
Exhilarating suspense and unforgettable characters await the readers of this magical adventure, destined to become a classic.
"This jewel of a story will capture your heart and your imagination...Readers should take their time and read with care to fully grasp and decipher the fresh mythology of the land of Sylver. It'll leave you gasping, laughing, and maybe shedding a tear or two." --The New York Journal of Books "Beguiling."--New York Times Book Review "This debut novel will captivate readers...Fantasy that evokes the classics of yore and stands proudly among them." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 130 x 196 x 28mm | 295g
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0142423459
  • 9780142423455
  • 292,570

Review quote

Rave reviews for The Twistrose Key A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year "This jewel of a story will capture your heart and your imagination...Readers should take their time and read with care to fully grasp and decipher the fresh mythology of the land of Sylver. It'll leave you gasping, laughing, and maybe shedding a tear or two." --The New York Journal of Books "Beguiling." --New York Times Book Review "This debut novel will captivate readers...Fantasy that evokes the classics of yore and stands proudly among them." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review "This book is pure magic. I want to live in it." --Laini Taylor, author of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy "This debut novel has Narnian charm and troll-fire high adventure. I've never read anything quite like it, and I hope Tone Almhjell writes many more books for me to fall in love with." --Erin Bow, author of Plain Kate "Children entranced by animal tales and in love with snowy fantasy lands will delight in Lin's magical journey and triumphant determination." --Booklist "Her story feels complete even as the world of Sylver contains enough unexplored territory to invite subsequent volumes." --Publishers Weekly
show more

About Tone Almhjell

Tone Almhjell received a master's degree in English Literature from the University of Oslo and worked as a journalist before deciding to write fiction full-time. She lives in Oslo, Norway with her two wonderfully stubborn kids, a boy and a girl. The Twistrose Key is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

2,018 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 29% (578)
4 33% (673)
3 29% (590)
2 7% (144)
1 2% (33)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X