Turtle under Ice

Turtle under Ice

4.3 (10 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A teen navigates questions of grief, identity, and guilt in the wake of her sister's mysterious disappearance in this breathtaking novel-in-verse from the author of 500 Words or Less--perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo. Rowena feels like her family is a frayed string of lights that someone needs to fix with electrical tape. After her mother died a few years ago, she and her sister, Ariana, drifted into their own corners of the world, each figuring out in their own separate ways how to exist in a world in which their mother is no longer alive.

But then Ariana disappears under the cover of night in the middle of a snowstorm, leaving no trace or tracks. When Row wakes up to a world of snow and her sister's empty bedroom, she is left to piece together the mystery behind where Ariana went and why, realizing along the way that she might be part of the reason Ariana is gone.

Haunting and evocative--and told in dual perspectives--Turtle Under Ice examines two sisters frozen by grief as they search for a way to unthaw.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 23mm | 361g
  • Simon Pulse
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • f-c jacket on uncoated stock w-raised spot UV
  • 1534442952
  • 9781534442955
  • 52,112

Review quote

A Junior Library Guild Selection "Beautifully written...Will appeal to readers seeking a meaningful story." --SLJ

"A moving story about sisterhood, family, and overcoming the insurmountable mountain that is grief." --Kirkus

"Elegiac and beautiful, del Rosario's tale plumbs the deep relationships between sisters with grace and compassion. --Booklist
show more

About Juleah Del Rosario

Juleah del Rosario is the author of 500 Words or Less and Turtle Under Ice. She wants you to know that she grew up outside of Seattle on the eastside. She currently lives in a book- and mountain-filled existence as a librarian in Colorado. She is Chamorro and Filipina. Most importantly, she wants you to know that you are loved and you are whole.
show more

Rating details

10 ratings
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 50% (5)
4 30% (3)
3 20% (2)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X