Tubes
13%
off

Tubes : Behind the Scenes at the Internet

3.48 (2,394 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Tubes" by Andrew Blum is the first and only book to expose what's really going on behind the scenes at the Internet, and will appeal to fans of "The Social Network" and Michael Lewis' "The Big Short". You write an email. You hit send. It appears ten thousand miles away. How did that happen? In April 2011, a seventy-five year old woman deprived Armenia of its internet access when she sliced through a buried cable with her garden spade. That January, Egyptian authorities simply switched off 70 per cent of the country's internet connections in an attempt to quell a revolution. In 2009, a squirrel chewed through a wire in Andrew Blum's backyard, slowing his broadband to a trickle and catapulting him on a quest to find out what this so-called 'internet' actually is. This is the Internet as you've never seen it before. It's not a concept. It's not a culture. It's most certainly not a cloud. It's a bunch of tubes. But what tubes...Hundreds of thousands of miles of fibre-optic cable, criss-crossing the globe, pulsing with trillions of photons of light, linking us via anonymous exchanges in secretive locations with vast data-warehouses where our online selves are stored in banks of spinning hard-drives. In "Tubes", Andrew Blum takes us behind the scenes of this hidden world and introduces us to the remarkable clan of insiders and eccentrics who design and run it everyday. He explains where it is, how it got there, what it looks like, how it works - and what happens when it breaks. "Every web site, every email, every instant message travels through real junctions in a real network of real cables. It's all too awesome to behold. Andrew Blum's fascinating book demystifies the earthly geography of this most ethereal terra incognita". (Joshua Foer, author of "Moonwalking with Einstein"). "Compelling and profound. You will never open an e-mail in quite the same way again". (Tom Vanderbilt, author of the "New York Times" bestseller "Traffic"). Andrew Blum is a correspondent at "Wired" magazine whose work has appeared in numerous publications, including the "New Yorker", "The New York Times", "Business Week" and "Slate". Blum was a lead media commentator during the internet blackout of the Egyptian revolution, and his latest article on gizmodo.com got 100,000 hits in its first day.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 152 x 210 x 26mm | 379.99g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • VIKING
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 2 x 8pp b/w inset
  • 0670918989
  • 9780670918980
  • 172,029

Review quote

The year's most original and stimulating 'travel' book ... utterly engrossing ... really does make the world more legible ... even the most geek-wary of readers will enjoy Independent, Book of the Week Excels at rooting the internet in real-world locations ... Full of memorable images that make the internet's complex architecture easier to comprehend ... entertaining and illuminating Guardian All too awesome to behold. Andrew Blum's fascinating book demystifies the earthly geography of this most ethereal terra incognita -- Joshua Foer, Author Of Moonwalking With Einstein Compelling and profound. You will never open an e-mail in quite the same way again -- Tom Vanderbilt, Author Of The New York Times Bestseller Traffic An engaging reminder that, cyber-Utopianism aside, the internet is as much a thing of flesh and steel as any industrial-age lumber mill or factory ... It is also an excellent introduction to the nuts and bolts of how exactly it all works Economist Makes hard-to-grasp concepts easy to understand, even obvious. The history, in particular, is one of the best and most memorable I have ever read New Scientist A Quixotic and winning book ... with a knack for bundling packets of data into memorable observations ... This valuable book leaves you with its share of unsettling visions, but there are comic ones too The New York Times A great, playful, wondrous read ArsTechnica One of our best writers ... a compelling story of an altogether new realm where the virtual world meets the physical -- Paul Goldberger, Pulitzer Prize-Winning New Yorker Critic In this thrilling adventure book, Blum takes us inside the infrastructure -- Jonah Lehrer For a full understanding of the Internet on every level, this book is a must-read Techzone At once funny, prosaic, sinister and wise, Blum's tale is a beautifully written account of the true human cost of all our remote connectivity -- Bella Bathurst, Author Of The Lighthouse Stevensons With infectious wonder, Andrew Blum introduces us to the Internet's geeky wizards and takes us on an amiably guided tour of the world they've created ... the Internet that Blum's beautifully lucid prose makes real turns out to be if anything a more marvelous place than the cloudy dreamland we'd imagined -- Donovan Hohn, Author Of Moby Duckshow more

About Andrew Blum

Andrew Blum is a correspondent at Wired magazine whose work has appeared in numerous publications, including the New Yorker and The New York Times. This is his first book.show more

Rating details

2,394 ratings
3.48 out of 5 stars
5 17% (398)
4 32% (776)
3 36% (871)
2 12% (285)
1 3% (64)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X