Truths I Never Told You

Truths I Never Told You

4.32 (158 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author." --Sally Hepworth, bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true. With her father recently moved to a care facility, Beth Walsh volunteers to clear out the family home and is surprised to discover the door to her childhood playroom padlocked. She's even more shocked at what's behind it--a hoarder's mess of her father's paintings, mounds of discarded papers and miscellaneous junk in the otherwise fastidiously tidy house. As she picks through the clutter, she finds a loose journal entry in what appears to be her late mother's handwriting. Beth and her siblings grew up believing their mother died in a car accident when they were little more than toddlers, but this note suggests something much darker. Beth soon pieces together a disturbing portrait of a woman suffering from postpartum depression and a husband who bears little resemblance to the loving father Beth and her siblings know. With a newborn of her own and struggling with motherhood, Beth finds there may be more tying her and her mother together than she ever suspected.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 150 x 226 x 21mm | 327g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 152580460X
  • 9781525804601
  • 237,155

Review quote

"Illuminating...engrossing [and] harrowing...Rimmer's suspenseful narrative will enthrall and move readers." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "The back-and-forth between Beth in the 1990s and Grace's notes from the 1950s creates momentum, and readers of epistolary novels will nod at Grace's depiction of the lack of choices for women of that time. Contrasting that with the stigma of getting mental health help, which was still strong in the '90s, Rimmer paints a picture of women finding their strength then and now." -Booklist
show more

Rating details

158 ratings
4.32 out of 5 stars
5 53% (83)
4 33% (52)
3 10% (16)
2 4% (6)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X